Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Da Capo Lifelong Books

Brandenburg

Henry Porter

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Prose: non-fiction, Fiction, Espionage & spy thriller, Psychology

WINNER OF THE IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER. A sophisticated and compelling historical thriller for fans of Philip Kerr and John le Carre

'A fascinating switchback roller-coaster of a plot' Guardian

November 1989. The fall of the Berlin Wall. One man is caught between East and West...

The Stasi was among the most sophisticated intelligence organisations in the world, but by the end of the 1980s the Orwellian state of East Germany was collapsing around it.

In the last few paranoid weeks of the Communist world one man will carry out one last desperate mission under the very noses of the Stasi. Dr Rudolf Rosenharte is an academic from Dresden and agent for MI6; his controller is Robert Harland, from A Spy's Life and Empire State.

When Rosenharte's security is compromised he is faced with a stark choice: to defect to the West, leaving his beloved family to the mercies of the Stasi, or return to East Germany to carry out the most dangerous assignment of his career. November 1989 will mean the end of communism. But will it mean the end of Rosenharte?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Brandenburg

  • A first-rate thriller ... Porter sustains an elaborate plot skilfully and portrays memorable, multi-faceted characters ... exhilaratingly testifies to the thriller genre's ability to transcend its primary role as entertainment - Sunday Times

  • A first-rate thriller ... Porter sustains an elaborate plot skilfully and portrays memorable, multi-faceted characters ... exhilaratingly testifies to the thriller genre's ability to transcend its primary role as entertainment - Sunday Times

  • Porter is both his own man and the proud carrier of the flag first unfurled by John le Carre. British espionage fiction is the best in the world and Porter is part of the reason why - Lee Child

  • Porter is both his own man and the proud carrier of the flag first unfurled by John le Carre. British espionage fiction is the best in the world and Porter is part of the reason why - Lee Child

  • An espionage master - Charles Cumming

  • An espionage master - Charles Cumming

  • Porter has proved that he'e a torchbearer in a great tradition - Sunday Express

  • Porter has proved that he'e a torchbearer in a great tradition - Sunday Express

Read More Read Less

Henry Porter

Henry Porter has written five novels for Orion and one children's novel. In 2005, his novel Brandenburg, which is set in East Germany at the time of the Fall of the Berlin Wall, won the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger. His thriller Empire State, the first about extraordinary rendition, was also nominated for the award. His books have been widely acclaimed and translated into over a dozen languages.

For five years he campaigned against the attack on civil liberties by the government in the Observer newspaper where he writes a column. During that time he debated with Tony Blair in a public exchange of emails about his government's record on surveillance, databases and the rights of the individual. He has been the London editor of Vanity Fair since 1993.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay