Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder & Stoughton

Drumveyn: Perthshire Cycle, Book 1

Alexandra Raife

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Romance, Sagas

The first book in the Perthshire cycle.

Four months after Sir Charles Napier's death, his widow, Madeleine, finding it hard to free herself from his lingering domination, still maintains the oppressive lifestyle he had ordained, and which had finally driven her children from their large and remote Scottish home.
Then Madeleine becomes aware of people needing her: her betrayed daughter Lisa; her son, Archie, with his plans for the estate and the problems of his foundering marriage; a friend at a crossroads in her life; an abandoned child and an unwanted baby. In meeting these challenges Madeleine discovers self-confidence and independence, and a new beginning at the heart of a wider, happier family in a transformed Drumveyn.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Drumveyn: Perthshire Cycle, Book 1

  • Drumveyn had me hooked from the first page - Barbara Erskine

  • Warm, friendly, involving . . . lovely - Reay Tannahill

  • A real find . . . the genuine storyteller's flair - Mary Stewart

  • An absorbing story with a perfectly painted background - Financial Times

  • The power of a natural-born storyteller - The Lady

  • A welcome new storyteller - Rosamunde Pilcher

Read More Read Less

Alexandra Raife

Alexandra Raife has lived abroad in many countries and worked at a variety of jobs, including a six-year commission in the RAF and many years co-running a Highland hotel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay