Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gateway

The Red Scholar's Wake

Aliette de Bodard

Write Review

Rated 0

Science fiction

An exciting space opera and a beautiful romance, from an exceptional SF author. Perfect for fans of Arkady Martine and Everine Maxwell.

'So romantic I may simply perish' Tasha Suri, award-winning author of THE JASMINE THRONE

'LESBIAN SPACE PIRATES. Enough said' Katee Robert, NYT bestselling author of NEON GODS

Xich Si: bot maker, data analyst, mother, scavenger. But those days are over now-her ship has just been captured by the Red Banner pirate fleet, famous for their double-dealing and cruelty. Xich Si expects to be tortured to death-only for the pirates' enigmatic leader, Rice Fish, to arrive with a different and shocking proposition: an arranged marriage between Xich Si and herself.

Rice Fish: sentient ship, leader of the infamous Red Banner pirate fleet, wife of the Red Scholar. Or at least, she was the latter before her wife died under suspicious circumstances. Now isolated and alone, Rice Fish wants Xich Si's help to find out who struck against them and why. Marrying Xich Si means Rice Fish can offer Xich Si protection, in exchange for Xich Si's technical fluency: a business arrangement with nothing more to it.

But as the investigation goes on, Rice Fish and Xich Si find themselves falling for each other. As the interstellar war against piracy intensifies and the five fleets start fighting each other, they will have to make a stand-and to decide what kind of future they have together...

An exciting space opera and a beautiful romance, from an exceptional SF author.

'A fizzingly inventive space opera, quite unlike anything I've encountered before, and told with style, grace, and a big dose of heart. SF is lucky to have Aliette de Bodard' Alastair Reynolds, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author


'A "read-in-one-sitting" novel with a beautifully-realized setting amid a complex examination of power and consequences, all intertwined with an intense and gripping romance' Kate Elliott, author of UNCONQUERABLE SUN

'Thrillingly exciting and achingly romantic, THE RED SCHOLAR'S WAKE is rich with political intrigue and piratical adventure. It took my breath away!' Stephanie Burgis, author of SNOWSPELLED and SCALES AND SENSIBILITY

'Space battles! Arranged marriage! Politics and pirates! Aliette de Bodard has a knack for concocting the most glittery and delicious candy-shell of space opera, and then filling it with a bittersweet romance between two fractured people trying to hold on to their ideals. Every new book of hers instantly becomes my favourite book of hers, and this was no exception' Freya Marske, author of international bestseller A MARVELLOUS LIGHT

'An epic tale of piracy and romance in the void of space. A new book from Aliette de Bodard is always a treasure' Gareth L. Powell, BSFA Award Winning Auth
Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay