Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit
  • Orbit

The Once and Future Witches

Alix E. Harrow

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

From the author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January comes this lush, magical work of speculative fiction that will appeal to fans of The Night Circus, The Power and The Binding

In 1893, there's no such thing as witches. There used to be, in the wild, dark days before the burnings began, but now witching is nothing but tidy charms and nursery rhymes. If the modern woman wants any measure of power, she must find it at the ballot box.
But when the three Eastwood sisters join the suffragists of New Salem, they begin to pursue the forgotten ways that might turn the women's movement into the witch's movement. Stalked by shadows and sickness, hunted by forces who will not suffer a witch to vote - and perhaps not even to live - the sisters must delve into the oldest magics, draw new alliances, and heal the bond between them if they want to survive.
There's no such thing as witches. But there will be.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Once and Future Witches

  • Harrow is more than an author; she is a Wordsmith, a sorceress wielding a pen in place of a wand

  • The storytelling is a joyful kind of magic. Alix E. Harrow has a beautifully dreamy style that is irresistible, even at the book's darkest moments, and her imagination feels limitless . . . this book is an infectious celebration of courage and wonder that feels like a massive, life affirming hug

  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January healed hurts I didn't even know I had. An unbearably beautiful story about growing up, and everything we fight to keep along the way

  • A gorgeous, aching love letter to stories, storytellers and the doors they lead us through . . . absolutely enchanting

  • A gorgeous world of magic that is at once familiar and startlingly new

  • One of the most unique works of fiction I've ever read

Read More Read Less

Alix E. Harrow

Alix E. Harrow is an ex-historian with lots of opinions and excessive library fines, currently living in Kentucky with her husband and their semi-feral children. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards. The Ten Thousand Doors of January is her debut novel. Find her on Twitter at @AlixEHarrow.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay