Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit
  • Hachette Audio
  • Orbit

The Once and Future Witches

Alix E. Harrow

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

From the author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January comes this lush, magical work of speculative fiction that will appeal to fans of The Night Circus, The Power and The Binding

'The Once and Future Witches is a gorgeous and thrilling paean to the ferocious power of women' Laini Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of Strange the Dreamer

In 1893, there's no such thing as witches. There used to be, in the wild, dark days before the burnings began, but now witching is nothing but tidy charms and nursery rhymes. If the modern woman wants any measure of power, she must find it at the ballot box.

But when the three Eastwood sisters join the suffragists of New Salem, they begin to pursue the forgotten ways that might turn the women's movement into the witch's movement. Stalked by shadows and sickness, hunted by forces who will not suffer a witch to vote - and perhaps not even to live - the sisters must delve into the oldest magics, draw new alliances, and heal the bond between them if they want to survive.

There's no such thing as witches. But there will be.

Praise for The Once and Future Witches:

'A brilliant dazzle of a book . . . I devoured it in enormous gulps, and utterly loved it' Kat Howard, author of The Unkindness of Ghosts

'Compelling, exhilarating and magical - a must read' Booklist (starred review)

'Delightful . . . a tale of women's battle for equality, of fairy tales twisted into wonderfully witchy spells, of magics both large and small, and history re-imagined' Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

'A love letter to folklore and the rebellious women of history' Publishers Weekly

'A breathtaking book - brilliant and raw and dark and complicated' Sarah Gailey, author of Magic for Liars

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Once and Future Witches

  • A gorgeous, aching love letter to stories, storytellers and the doors they lead us through . . . absolutely enchanting

  • Harrow is more than an author; she is a Wordsmith, a sorceress wielding a pen in place of a wand

  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January healed hurts I didn't even know I had. An unbearably beautiful story about growing up, and everything we fight to keep along the way

  • One of the most unique works of fiction I've ever read

  • The storytelling is a joyful kind of magic. Alix E. Harrow has a beautifully dreamy style that is irresistible, even at the book's darkest moments, and her imagination feels limitless . . . this book is an infectious celebration of courage and wonder that feels like a massive, life affirming hug

Read More Read Less

Alix E. Harrow

A former academic and adjunct, Alix E. Harrow is now a full-time writer living in Kentucky with her husband and their semi-feral kids. She is the author of Hugo Award-winning short fiction and her debut novel, The Ten Thousand Doors of January was shortlisted for the Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards. Find her on Twitter at @AlixEHarrow.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay