Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy thriller 2017, and the #1 ebook bestseller

Amy Engel

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense

Boundary-pushing and provocative, this is a novel about the twisted secrets families keep - and the fierce and terrible love that both binds them together and rips them apart.

Underneath the Roanoke Girls' perfect exterior lies a chilling secret...

'Utterly addictive' LISA HALL 'Not for the faint-hearted' THE BOOK BAG
'Provocative' TELEGRAPH 'A must-have' SUNDAY EXPRESS

Beautiful.
Rich.
Mysterious.

The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies.

Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back.

She is a Roanoke girl.

Is she strong enough to escape a second time?

An explosive, boundary-pushing novel perfect for fans of GOOD ME BAD ME, Gillian Flynn and THE GIRLS.

*****

'Daring, alluring and beautifully atmospheric *****' Culturefly

'Fans of The Girls will love this' Red

'Twisted, controversial...SO compelling' Claire Douglas, bestselling author of Local Girl Missing

'Utterly captivating' Katerina Diamond, bestselling author of The Teacher

'Dark, disturbing, and deliciously written... pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart' Ava Marsh, author of Unforgettable

'Beautifully controlled horror' Lucy Mangan

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy thriller 2017, and the #1 ebook bestseller

  • A provocative thriller - Telegraph

  • A debt to Daphne du Maurier is evident throughout this remarkably assured adult debut - The Sunday Times

  • Fans of The Girls will love this sweat-soaked, sultry, small town tale full of shadows and lurking dread. - Red Online

  • Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it. A (vastly superior) Flowers in the Attic for a new generation

  • Twisted, controversial...SO compelling and beautifully written

  • Beautifully written and utterly captivating...and so so dark. I loved it!

  • Seriously twisted and utterly addictive.

  • 'This gothic page-turner speeds inexorably toward the kind of devastating revelations readers won't soon forget' - Publishers Weekly

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Amy Engel

Amy Engel is the author of the YA novels THE BOOK OF IVY and THE REVOLUTION OF IVY. She lives in Missouri with her family. THE ROANOKE GIRLS is her first novel for adults.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay