Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel

11 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense

Boundary-pushing and provocative, this is a novel about the twisted secrets families keep - and the fierce and terrible love that both binds them together and rips them apart.

Underneath the Roanoke Girls' perfect exterior lies a chilling secret...

'Utterly addictive' LISA HALL 'Not for the faint-hearted' THE BOOK BAG
'Provocative' TELEGRAPH 'A must-have' SUNDAY EXPRESS


The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies.

Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back.

She is a Roanoke girl.

Is she strong enough to escape a second time?

An explosive, boundary-pushing novel perfect for fans of GOOD ME BAD ME, Gillian Flynn and THE GIRLS.


'Daring, alluring and beautifully atmospheric *****' Culturefly

'Fans of The Girls will love this' Red

'Twisted, controversial...SO compelling' Claire Douglas, bestselling author of Local Girl Missing

'Utterly captivating' Katerina Diamond, bestselling author of The Teacher

'Dark, disturbing, and deliciously written... pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart' Ava Marsh, author of Unforgettable

'Beautifully controlled horror' Lucy Mangan

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Roanoke Girls

  • I was immediately drawn into The Roanoke Girls, a haunting and riveting look at one family's tangled legacy. You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secrets. - Laura McHugh

  • 'This gothic page-turner speeds inexorably toward the kind of devastating revelations readers won't soon forget' - Publishers Weekly

  • A provocative thriller - Telegraph

  • Beautifully written and utterly captivating...and so so dark. I loved it!

  • A debt to Daphne du Maurier is evident throughout this remarkably assured adult debut - The Sunday Times

  • Twisted, controversial...SO compelling and beautifully written

  • This is a poised and haunting novel, whose enchanting prose belies its dark and intense subject matter. An evocative modern take on Southern Gothic, with a compelling twist which will remain with you long after the book's last sentence. - L.S. Hinton

  • Seriously twisted and utterly addictive.

  • An emotionally compelling page turner, The Roanoke Girls takes you inside the dark world of a twisted family and one woman's fight to break free from the chains of her own history. This is family intrigue at its very best. - Wendy Walker

  • Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it. A (vastly superior) Flowers in the Attic for a new generation

  • Fans of The Girls will love this sweat-soaked, sultry, small town tale full of shadows and lurking dread. - Red Online

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Amy Engel

Amy Engel is the author of the YA novels THE BOOK OF IVY and THE REVOLUTION OF IVY. She lives in Missouri with her family. THE ROANOKE GIRLS is her first novel for adults.