Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Trapeze

The Unforgotten: An undertaker trying to solve a cold case digs up something from her past

Amy MacKinnon

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

An unusual, hauntingly atmospheric crime novel perfect for fans of Alice Sebold's THE LOVELY BONES, Sarah Pinborough, Belinda Bauer and Sharon Bolton.


'If you like emotional, gripping crime fiction then you'll love this book' - Amazon reviewer

'This is a beautifully written atmospheric mystery that immerses the reader in the life, work and rituals at a funeral parlour.' - Amazon reviewer

'HAUNTING AND MULTILAYERED WITH A KILLER TWIST' - Marie Claire

*******

Let the dead stay dead.

Clara Marsh is an undertaker.
She spends her solitary life among the dead and bids them farewell with a bouquet from her own garden. But Clara's carefully structured life shifts when she discovers a neglected little girl, Trecie, playing in the funeral parlour, desperate for a friend.

It changes even more when Detective Mike Sullivan starts questioning her again about a body she prepared three years ago, an unidentified girl found murdered in a nearby strip of woods. Unclaimed by family, the community christened her Precious Doe. When Clara and Mike learn that Trecie may be involved with the same people who killed Precious Doe, Clara must choose between her solitary but steadfast existence and the perils of binding one's life to another.

Clara's search for the girl pulls her into a spiralling series of events that threaten to endanger the few people Clara has grown to love - and finally brings her own tragic and long-buried past to the surface.

'Such a refreshing read... I've not read anything like it before' - Amazon reviewer 'an hypnotic debut... There's a quiet, almost stealthy quality to the writing...Clara is an astonishing character, and with language as blunt as the death she sees every day, she expresses herself with devastating simplicity.' -New York Times Book Review

******* PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED AS TETHERED

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Unforgotten: An undertaker trying to solve a cold case digs up something from her past

  • [A] haunting, gracefully rendered, debut - BOOKLIST

  • MacKinnon's writing is compelling, the book is distinctive, and the characters are memorable - BOSTON GLOBE

  • [A] hypnotic debut... There's a quiet, almost stealthy quality to the writing ... Clara is an astonishing character, and with language as blunt as the death she sees every day, she expresses herself with devastating simplicity - NEW YORK TIMES REVIEW OF BOOKS

Read More Read Less

Amy MacKinnon

Amy MacKinnon, a former congressional aide, is a freelance writer whose commentaries have appeared in the Seattle Times, Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Patriot Ledger and on National Public Radio and This American Life. She lives in Marshfield, Massachusetts with her husband and their three young children.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay