Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline

Confessions of a Single Mum: What It's Like When You're Expecting The Unexpected

Amy Nickell

Write Review

Rated 0

Memoirs

A witty and inspirational memoir of the realities of being a single mum.

Want to know what it's really like to be a single mum? Perfect for fans of Part-Time Working Mummy and Why Mummy Drinks, this will inspire you to own your single status and make you realise that you're not alone.

'A joyful and moving first person account of solo parenthood and confronting societal expectations of "family" after falling pregnant age 24. Bravo Amy!' Pandora Sykes

'This goes off like a rocket and never lets up . . . this is like going out with your best mate for a coffee and them telling you their whole experience' Penny Smith

'Amy's frank and down-to-earth story is inspiring and honest' The Sun

When Amy Nickell left university, she managed to nab herself a real life paid job as a celebrity reporter in London town. She literally got paid to ask Robert Downey Junior out for Nando's, while living with her gay best friend, their Harry Styles cardboard cutout and their pet toad, Snoop Frog. Things were good, they were fun and they definitely weren't serious. That life took a very grown up, very serious detour when Amy found herself unexpectedly pregnant. Pregnant and without a boyfriend. And so her life went in an altogether new direction...

From plus one dating to lactating way too near to Simon Cowell, this is Amy's wonderfully frank, honest and hilarious story of a family that is anything but nuclear. So whether you've just arrived, are on the way or have been here a while, this is for anyone who's found themselves scratching their head and wondering:

'How the hell did I end up here?'

What readers are saying about Confessions of a Single Mum:

'You don't have to be a single mum or female to love this book! Amy is an absolute hero and role model to everyone. Unbelievably funny and inspirational'

'Hilarious and heartwarming'

Read More Read Less

Amy Nickell

Amy Nickell is a journalist and whether she is oversharing in newspapers and magazines, such as the Metro, the Guardian and Grazia, or in front of the camera offering Jennifer Aniston Doritos, she's never taken a standard approach. But the real surprise came when Amy discovered she was pregnant and without a boyfriend. Despite the bad press, unplanned pregnancy and single parenthood didn't ruin her life and she's been writing and talking about it ever since including appearances on Good Morning Britain and BBC Radio 4's Woman's Hour. She now lives in Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire with her son Freddy who is now three and her partner, Oliver. Her favourite Spice Girl is Geri and she eats one avocado every day.

Readers also viewed

Left Right