Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books

Corpselight

Angela Slatter

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Verity Fassbinder, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Fantasy

Watch out, Harry Dresden - there's a new kick-ass guardian in town and Verity Fassbinder's taking no nonsense from anyone, not even the fox-spirit assassins who are invading Brisbane.

'Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. She forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves' - Jack Dann, award-winning author.

Sequel to VIGIL, this fast-paced urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Kinsey Millhone.

Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds.

Verity's all about protecting her city, but right now that's mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council - after all, it's hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you're really, really pregnant.

An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for 'Unusual Happenstance'. That's not usually a clause Normals use - it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing - but Susan Beckett's claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she's still insisting she doesn't need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin.

V's first lead in takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it's clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful.

CORPSELIGHT is the sequel to VIGIL and the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Corpselight

  • Angela Slatter is an Australian author who spins beautiful yarns in a musical, fascinating narrative style - SFSite

  • Like Aickman, her sense of the fantastic serves to show us the weird world we hold within our own psyches . . . Slatter's prose is often magnificent, and she's able to craft characters as great as the powers they wield - Rick Kleffel, American Public Radio Books on Angela Slatter

  • Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre - British Fantasy Society

  • Angela Slatter [is one] of the most daring and exquisitely polished writers on today's' speculative fiction scene' - Karen Miller, author of the Kingmaker, Kingbreaker series on Angela Slatter

  • Slatter is a master world-builder - beyondfiction.com

  • One of the most important voices in fantasy - SF Signal on Angela Slatter

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

The Realm Recommends with Angela Slatter

Right
Left
loading...

The Realm Recommends with Angela Slatter

Right