Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion

Underbelly: The instant Sunday Times bestseller from Mother Pukka the unmissable, gripping and electrifying fiction debut of 2021

Anna Whitehouse

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The explosive, fresh and utterly compulsive women's fiction debut from Mother Pukka and Papa Pukka, writing as Anna Whitehouse. Perfect for fans of So Lucky by Dawn O'Porter and Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid.

'Darkly voyeuristic but with heart - as funny as it is painful and true. We loved it' GRAZIA

'I don't think I've ever turned the pages of a book so quickly. So sharp, so tender... truly excellent storytelling' DAISY BUCHANAN
'Entertaining and playful but with huge depth, meaning and heart. I raced through it' EMMA GANNON

'Thrilling, exhilarating, devastating. A must-read' LAURA JANE WILLIAMS

'Engrossing, fantastically written and painfully real. I laughed, sobbed and got the chills' JESSICA RYN

UNDERBELLY
[n.] singular

The soft underside or abdomen of a mammal.
An area vulnerable to attack.
A dark, hidden part of society.

Lo and Dylan are living parallel lives, worlds apart.

Lo is the ultimate middle-class mother, all perfectly polished Instagram posts and armchair activism.

Dylan is just about surviving on a zero-hours telemarketing job from her flat, trying to keep food on the table.

But when they meet at the school gates, they are catapulted into each other's homes and lives - with devastating consequences . . .

Explosive, sharply humorous and unflinchingly honest, Underbelly slices through the filtered surface of modern women's lives to expose the dark truth beneath.

Coming August 2021!

Praise for Anna Whitehouse:

'Painful and funny - and painfully funny' Emma Freud

'Thank God there is none of that smug, married-couple twattery in this book. I loved it' Jane Garvey

'Fantastically unsmug' Woman's Hour

'This book is a hoot - hilarious and heartfelt' Emma Gannon

'Snort-tea-through-nose funny' Cherry Healey

'This book left me laughing so very hard and equally blubbing with tears' Jools Oliver

Read More Read Less

Anna Whitehouse

Anna Whitehouse and Matt Farquharson are a husband and wife writing team and the co-authors of Sunday Times bestsellers Parenting the Sh*t Out of Life and Where's My Happy Ending?. They are journalists and co-founders of the website Mother Pukka and the campaigners behind the Flex Appeal movement (flexible working for all), recently addressed in parliament. Anna also presents a weekly radio show on Heart FM.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay