Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sceptre

Fiction in translation

Set in 1940s Paris, this bittersweet debut novel has sold in twenty three territories, this is the perfect book for fans of A Man Called Ove, My Name is Lucy Barton and The Guest Cat

A psychiatrist is counting down towards his upcoming retirement. He lives alone in his childhood home and has neither friends nor family.

Often, he resorts to drawing bird caricatures of his patients instead of taking notes. His social life consists of brief conversations with his meticulous secretary Madame Surrugue, who has reigned over the clinic for more than thirty years. The two of them have no relationship outside the office, where everything runs smoothly and uneventfully.

Until one day, that is, when a young German woman called Agatha arrives and demands to see the doctor and he soon realizes that underneath her fragile exterior is a strong and fascinating woman. The doctor and Agatha embark upon a course of therapy together, a process that forces the doctor to confront his fear of true intimacy outside the clinic. But is it too late to reconsider your existence as a 71-year-old?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Agatha

  • Astounding for a debut author - Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay