Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline

Resurrection Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 4): Is Pitt investigating a practical joke - or a murder?

Anne Perry

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery, Historical mysteries

In the fourth Victorian mystery featuring Inspector Thomas Pitt, he is faced with a frightening case of bodies that won't stay buried. Is it a practical joke - or murder?

The doctors insist that Lord Augustus' death was natural. But as far as the police are concerned, there's certainly nothing natural about what happens next...

In the fourth Victorian mystery featuring Inspector Thomas Pitt, the detective is faced with a frightening case of bodies that won't stay buried. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart.

'Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing' - Guardian

Lord Fitzroy-Hammond of Resurrection Row has been dead and buried three weeks when he turns up sitting atop a hansom cab. Grave robbing, though a crime, isn't Inspector Thomas Pitt's usual work. But when the macabre joke is repeated, and the man's corpse is found sitting in the family pew following his second burial, and other disinterred bodies appear, Pitt begins to wonder if a message is being sent.

A new mother, Charlotte Pitt only takes a cursory interest in the case until she hears Thomas mention her late sister's husband as a possible suspect. As Pitt follows leads into the slums and rookeries, she too is drawn into the politics and horrors of greed and exploitation. For Pitt and Charlotte, what begins as a bizarre mystery becomes a deadly pursuit through the London underworld of pornographic photographers, brothels, and sweatshops.

What readers are saying about Resurrection Row:

'A wonderfully gruesome novel from Anne Perry... Her research into the murky world of [grave digging] cannot be faulted'

'This one has a particularly ingenious plot and I was delighted to see that the interesting and mildly eccentric Aunt Vespasia was back again'

'Another thrilling read from Anne Perry'

Read More Read Less

Praise for Resurrection Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 4): Is Pitt investigating a practical joke - or a murder?

  • Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out - New York Times Book Review

  • Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry's admirers - Publishers Weekly

Read More Read Less

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay