Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

Isaac and the Egg

Bobby Palmer

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Find hope in the unexpected in this unforgettable debut novel about grief and friendship, for readers of Joanna Cannon, Patrick Ness and Matt Haig.

'Truly one of the most beautiful stories you'll ever read... What's it about? I'd love to have a stab at explaining, but I can't. You're just going to have to find out for yourself' JOANNA CANNON

'I laughed, I cried, I sat quietly and thought about what I'd read... a future classic' CLARE MACKINTOSH

'I read it in one breath... true and tragic and funny and hopeful and big - big enough somehow to contain all of our stories and all of our lives inside it' JOANNA GLEN

---

A young man walks into the woods on the worst morning of his life and finds something there that will change everything.

It's a tale that might seem familiar. But how it speaks to you will depend on how you've lived until now.

Sometimes, to get out of the woods, you have to go into them. Isaac and the Egg is one of the most hopeful, honest and wildly imaginative novels you will ever read.

---

'This book is just magic' KATE SAWYER

'A mad, sad, funny debut' PATRICK GALE

'Fresh, original and beautifully written' RUTH HOGAN

'Will stay with me for a long time' MARK WATSON

'Sublime' BRYONY GORDON

'A mesmerising debut, capturing everything that's funny and sad about real life' DAVID WHITEHOUSE

'A bold, beautiful undertaking' POORNA BELL

'Funny, sad, surreal, life-affirming... I too would like an egg' KASIM ALI

'An extraordinary story . . . brimming with magic and - perhaps most importantly - hope' GLAMOUR

'Bizarre, beautiful and like nothing else I've ever read' ANNIE LORD

Read More Read Less

Praise for Isaac and the Egg

  • An extraordinary story . . . brimming with magic and - perhaps most importantly - hope

  • Truly one of the most beautiful stories you'll ever read, written with generosity and warmth, and such perception. What's it about? I'd love to have a stab at explaining, but I can't. You're just going to have to find out for yourself. I can tell you one thing: it's a story for anyone who has ever lost somebody, or has ever lost their way

  • A mad, sad, funny debut

  • A modern-day fairy tale full of charm, innocence, pain and humour that is deeply satisfying and wonderfully surprising

  • A mesmerising debut, capturing everything that's funny and sad about real life

  • This book is just sublime . . . It will be a crime if millions of people haven't read it this time next year

  • A bold, beautiful undertaking that looks at the hurricane of grief distilled and seen through the eyes of a man and an egg. It is at times surprising, comforting, abstract and yet utterly real

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Read an extract from Isaac and the Egg by Bobby Palmer

Right
Left
loading...

Read an extract from Isaac and the Egg by Bobby Palmer

Right

Bobby Palmer

Bobby Palmer is a freelance journalist who writes for publications including Time Out, GQ, Men's Health and Cosmopolitan. Isaac and the Egg is his debut novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay