Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Go Ask Fannie Farmer

Elisabeth Hyde

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A brightly fun and incredibly moving novel about three bickering adult siblings rebuilding their family in the wake of tragedy. Perfect for fans of Jonathan Tropper.

Though the adult Blair siblings have agreed to keep things calm and amiable on a trip to stay with their elderly father, each arrives, in true Blair style, with a secret agenda. But plans are derailed when Lizzie, the youngest, turns up late with a burnt hand, impending criminal charges, and a damp family cookbook: Fannie Farmer's Boston Cooking School.

The now ruined cookbook is the last vestige of a more idyllic time, when there were four siblings, not three, a public family reputation to uphold, and a mother whose handwritten notes in the margins of the recipes are their last link to her after the accident years ago.

But secrets will always out, especially amongst family: and this weekend, the Blair siblings will learn that there is more to their mother's story than they could have anticipated...

Told in three parts, roving between then and now, GO ASK FANNIE FARMER tells of the life and death of Lillian Blair, the over-bearing, bickering, but loving children who look for ways to connect with one another in her absence, and the inner lives we hide from our families.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Go Ask Fannie Farmer

  • A remarkably lucid and authoritative novelist

  • Elisabeth Hyde captures family life perfectly . . . superb and compelling - The Book Bag

Read More Read Less