Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Constable

Make Him Pay

B. E. Jones

Write Review

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

An irresistible, twisty thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Gillian Flynn.

Jen's life is exactly how it should be. She has a steady job as a press officer for the police and a stable relationship with police inspector Dan, now her fiance. But her stable life is thrown into turmoil when Jen receives a phone call from a mysterious woman that leaves her doubting everything. Convinced that Dan is having an affair, Jen retaliates and the next day finds her waking up in an empty bed, far from home, with a pounding headache and two used condoms beside her.

Feeling guilty, Jen reconciles with a contrite Dan and the wedding plans continue. But then a video of her having sex with the stranger surfaces.

Desperate to stop it being exposed to the public, Jen starts searching for the blackmailer. But as she does so, darker secrets begin to emerge and she starts to realise that there may be more to husband-to-be than she'd ever known . . .

Previously published as Holiday Money

Praise for B. E. Jones

'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce

'I got completely sucked in by this . . . irresistible!' Catriona McPherson

'Bev Jones is a first class writer . . . I can thoroughly recommend this book' ***** Amazon Reviewer

'A gripping summer must-read! Addictive!' ***** Amazon Reviewer

Read More Read Less

B. E. Jones

B.E. Jones is a former journalist and police press officer, now a novelist and book obsessive. She was born in a small village in the South Wales valleys, north of Cardiff and started her journalism career with Trinity Mirror newspapers before becoming a broadcast journalist with BBC Wales Today.

She has worked on all aspects of crime reporting (as well as community news and features) producing stories and content for newspapers and live TV. Most recently she worked as a press officer for South Wales Police, dealing with the media and participating in criminal investigations, security operations and emergency planning. Perhaps unsurprisingly she channels these experiences of 'true crime,' and her insight into the murkier side of human nature, into her dark, psychological thrillers set in and around South Wales.