Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze

Queenie: British Book Awards Book of the Year

Candice Carty-Williams

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Adult & contemporary romance

A darkly comic and unflinchingly raw depiction of a young woman trying to navigate her way in the world, QUEENIE is about identity, independence and carving your own path. For fans of Dolly Alderton, Sally Rooney, Kiley Reid, and Fleabag.

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 'A deliciously funny, characterful, topical and thrilling novel for our times' Bernardine Evaristo, winner of the Booker Prize

'Brilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking' Jojo Moyes

'A must-read novel about sex, selfhood, and the best friendships that get us through it all' Candace Bushnell, author of Sex and the City

Queenie is a twenty-five-year-old Black woman living in south London, straddling Jamaican and British culture whilst slotting neatly into neither. She works at a national newspaper where she's constantly forced to compare herself to her white, middle-class peers, and beg to write about Black Lives Matter. After a messy break up from her long-term white boyfriend, Queenie finds herself seeking comfort in all the wrong places.

As Queenie veers from one regrettable decision to another, she finds herself wondering, What are you doing? Why are you doing it? Who do you want to be? - the questions that every woman today must face in a world that keeps trying to provide the answers for them.

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on life, love, race and family, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way. A disarmingly honest, boldly political and truly inclusive tale that will speak to anyone who has gone looking for love and acceptance and found something very different in its place.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Queenie: British Book Awards Book of the Year

  • Inspirational...written by a new and exciting young woman, it's articulate, brave and 'woke'. Funny, wise, and of the moment, this book and this writer are the ones to watch.

  • Hilarious, compelling, painful, enlightening, honest. I loved it.

  • Candice gives so generously with her joy, pain and humour, that we cannot help but become fully immersed in the life of Queenie- a beautiful and compelling book.

  • Queenie has all the things you want in a debut novel - a startlingly fresh voice, characters you fall in love with from the very first page, and a joyous turn of phrase that makes this book almost impossible to put down. In turns hilariously funny and quietly devastating, Queenie is an important, timely story.

  • I was engrossed and loved Queenie - her humour, her pain, her politics, her friends, her family!

  • I enjoyed Queenie a lot; sharp, relatable, and incredibly evocative

  • Adorable, funny, heartbreaking

  • Queenie is a masterclass in how to write accessible political fiction about race and gender. Funny, relatable, sad, and hopeful; Candice Carty-Williams is a writer to watch.

Read More Read Less

Candice Carty-Williams

Candice Carty-Williams was born in 1989, the result of an affair between a Jamaican cab driver and a dyslexic Jamaican-Indian receptionist. She is a journalist, screenwriter, and author of the Sunday Times bestselling Queenie, a book described as 'vital', 'disarmingly honest' and 'boldly political'. In 2016, Candice created and launched the Guardian and 4th Estate BAME (black, Asian and minority ethnic) Short Story Prize, the first inclusive initiative of its kind in book publishing. As a journalist she has written for the Guardian, i-D, Vogue International, every iteration of the Sunday Times, BEAT Magazine, Black Ballad and more. She will probably always live in South London. She can be found on Twitter and Instagram at @CandiceC_W.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay