Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit
  • Orbit

The Oversight: A mystery of witch-hunters, magicians and mirror-walkers

Charlie Fletcher

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Oversight Trilogy, Fiction, Adventure, Historical adventure, Horror & ghost stories, Fantasy

This gothic fantasy is perfect for readers who enjoyed Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, A Discovery of Witches and The Night Circus and also to fans of Neil Gaiman's magical fiction.


'Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised. This feels like the start of something amazing' -M. R. Carey, author of The Girl With All the Gifts

WHEN THEY FALL, SO DO WE ALL

Once the Oversight, the secret society that polices the lines between the mundane and the magic, counted hundreds of brave souls among its members. Now their number can be tallied on a single hand.
When a drunkard brings a screaming girl to the Oversight's London headquarters, it seems their hopes for a new recruit will be fulfilled - but the girl is a trap, her appearance a puzzle the five remaining guardians must solve or lose each other, and their society, for good.
As the borders between the natural and the supernatural begin to break down, brutal murders erupt across the city, the Oversight are torn viciously apart and their enemies close in for the final blow.

This dark Dickensian fantasy spins a tale of witch-hunters, magicians, mirror-walkers and the unlikeliest of heroes drawn from the depths of British folklore. Meet the Oversight, and remember: when they fall, so do we all. The Oversight Trilogy begins with The Oversight, continues in The Paradox and concludes in The Remnant.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Oversight: A mystery of witch-hunters, magicians and mirror-walkers

  • Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in about equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised. This feels like the start of something amazing

  • The Oversight is - and let's be clear here - something very special . . . It's oh so moreish a morsel. I'd read a prequel this evening, a sequel as soon as. - Tor.com

  • Told in a kind of compelling and hypnotic poesie that I just lapped up . . . I'll certainly be reading the next one - BoingBoing.net

  • A remarkable combination of British folklore, brisk pacing and wide-ranging imagination - Kirkus Reviews

  • Richly atmospheric (the evil lurks in the background of every paragraph), the book should be a big hit with supernatural-fantasy readers ... the second book can't come soon enough - Booklist (starred review)

  • Fletcher's Victorian London is juicily vivid, and laced with macabre wit. There's a real sense of grim danger, both natural and unnatural, hungrily awaiting the slightest mis-step

  • A richly atmospheric and intensely readable slice of Victoriana, with a splendidly eerie sense of the way the unearthly lies cheek-by-jowl with the mundane

  • Utterly enthralling: Charles Dickens meets Susanna Clarke

Read More Read Less

Charlie Fletcher

Having studied English Literature at university , Charlie began his career in the film business carrying cans of film round Soho and making very bad cups of tea on the principal that he'd then be asked to do something a bit more interesting, a strategy that he recommends to anyone starting out as a tea-boy. He progressed to the BBC where he worked in film editing on everything from Drama to Current Affairs.

He then went to California where he morphed into a screenwriter, having been awarded a Warner Brothers Fellowship in Screenwriting at USC School of Cinema and TV. He's written screenplays for Tri-Star, MGM, Paramount and Warner Bros among others. He continues to write for the movies, and also television. He still thinks that being a film editor is a pretty damn fine way to learn about story-telling in general, and narrative structure and pacing in particular.

Charlie also moved into other types of writing including magazine features, a computer game and as both a national Sunday newspaper columnist and restaurant reviewer. Finally he found the way to combine all those writing strands and produced some rattling-good children's books!

The Stoneheart trilogy has been a massive international hit and Charlie has recently sold the movie rights of Stoneheart to Paramount. He has also been asked to write the screenplay himself, which just shows you should never make plans, since he actually wrote the books to get away from Hollywood for a bit...

In his personal life, Charlie met and married his wife, a fellow Scot, in LA. They have two children, whom Charlie calls his first, most important, and toughest audience. They've all now returned from California and live in Edinburgh with a terrier called Archie.