Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House: A powerful, heart-wrenching novel of the other side of an island paradise

Cherie Jones

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

HOW THE ONE-ARMED SISTER SWEEPS HER HOUSE is a powerful, visceral and compelling debut novel of a troubled island, of male violence and the women who live with it and fight to survive. For readers of MY SISTER THE SERIAL KILLER and AN AMERICAN MARRIAGE.

Lala is eight months pregnant when her waters break unexpectedly during the night. Her husband is nowhere to be found, so she flees the house in search of him. Adan has been out doing a burglary that has gone horribly wrong, and now he's killed a white man. But a baby won't wait, and Lala has to get to hospital where she learns three things: one - there is no toilet paper in hospital; two - the nurses shout that it's your fault for getting pregnant, nothing to do with a man; three - they know the baby will be born dead and won't consider calling a doctor. But Lala is determined to prove them wrong.

Mira Whalen has only recently married Peter, the husband who now lies dead, sprawled across their bed. He loved her, his second wife and she loved him. But last night they had a row, and she wishes they hadn't. Just as she wishes that she hadn't confronted her husband's murderer and pulled the stocking off his face. For now he knows who exactly who she is.

HOW THE ONE-ARMED SISTER SWEEPS HER HOUSE is the story of two marriages, and of a beautiful island paradise where, beyond the white sand beaches and the wealthy tourists, lies poverty, menacing violence and a desire among the women to speak out and survive.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay