Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orchard Books
  • Orchard Books

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger: Book 1

Christopher William Hill

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Tales from Schwartzgarte, For National Curriculum Key Stage 2, Interest age: from c 9 years, Fiction, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage), Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage), Traditional stories (Children's / Teenage)

Like Roald Dahl - but different!

The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series.

Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail...

If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten.

Osbert the Avenger is the first in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten. With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark

This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal!

Read More Read Less

Praise for Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger: Book 1

  • Fans of Roald Dahl, Chris Priestly and Lemony Snicket will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy. - The Times

  • An idiosyncratic comic fantasy... it is likely that children will be most enthusiastic. - Books For Keeps

  • Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert's story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and secrets - and in need of a hero. - We Love this Book

  • Looks set to be a hugely successful new series. Marvelously detailed. There are three more bloodthirsty and hilarious adventures to come. - School Librarian

  • A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero. - Booktrust

  • A riveting story - a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end. - Primary Times

  • If you love your teachers and have never entertained the thought of murdering them in the most diabolically appropriate way, then this book should probably be avoided at all costs. - Lion & Unicorn Books

  • Rules are broken in a carnival manner that is deliciously and genuinely thrilling - Books for Keeps

Read More Read Less

Christopher William Hill

Christopher William Hill was born in Truro, in Cornwall - a little jaundiced, but that was to be expected in the grim days of the 1970s. His mother was a former nurse, so Christopher grew up with a copy of Black's Medical Dictionary to hand, which was ideal reading matter for an enthusiastic hypochondriac. He liked acting and putting on silly voices, and collecting ancient relics which he gathered in a large walk-in wardrobe that called his 'museum'. Christopher loves walking, ocean liners, airships, Victoriana and cake shops.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay