Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

The Fourteenth Letter: The page-turning new thriller filled with a labyrinth of secrets

Claire Evans

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical mysteries, Thriller / suspense, Historical fiction

London 1881. A bride is murdered on at her engagement party, setting in chain a twisting, riveting mystery full of memorable characters in Claire Evans' dramatic debut novel perfect for fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth, Carlos Ruiz Zafon's The Shadow of the Wind and Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist.

'Exuberant plotting and witty prose. Great fun.'
The Times

Phoebe Stanbury was killed in the summer of secrets...

One balmy June evening in 1881, Phoebe Stanbury stands before the guests at her engagement party: this is her moment, when she will join the renowned Raycraft family and ascend to polite society. As she takes her fiance's hand, a stranger holding a knife steps forward and ends the poor girl's life. Amid the chaos, he turns to her aristocratic groom and mouths: 'I promised I would save you.' The following morning, just a few miles away, timid young legal clerk William Lamb meets a reclusive client. He finds the old man terrified and in desperate need of aid: William must keep safe a small casket of yellowing papers, and deliver an enigmatic message: The Finder knows.

With its labyrinth of unfolding mysteries, Claire Evans' riveting debut will be adored by fans of Kate Mosse, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jessie Burton. 'A darkly brilliant romp packed with intrigue and romance . . . curl up and prepare to become immersed'
Heat

'Claire Evans has created a cast of deliciously sinister and mysterious characters. A hugely satisfying read'
Good Housekeeping

'I stayed up far too late reading this night after night. IT WILL GET YOU HOOKED'
Herald Sun

'A brilliantly plotted, unpredictable page-turner that builds to a devastating conclusion'
Jack Williams, co-creator of The Missing and Rellik

'Claire Evans's debut novel is exciting, ingenious'
Good Reading Magazine

'Will keep you guessing'
Crime Fiction Lover

'The Fourteenth Letter is well researched, well plotted, well written and a jolly good read'
Promoting Crime Fiction blog

'A delicious and surprising debut novel. Thrilling'
Love It Magazine

'Builds to a shattering conclusion - it will repay your patience over and again. this is a superb story, well worth the read'
Crime Review

'A truly thrilling read, and I will be looking out for this author's next book. Highly recommended'
MyShelf (blog)

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Fourteenth Letter: The page-turning new thriller filled with a labyrinth of secrets

  • Exuberant plotting and witty prose. Great fun. - The Times

  • A darkly brilliant romp packed with intrigue and romance . . . curl up and prepare to become immersed - Heat

  • If you enjoyed Kate Mosse's Labyrinth or Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist, then chances are you're going to love this new thriller - Hello Magazine

  • Claire Evans has created a cast of deliciously sinister and mysterious characters. A hugely satisfying read. - Good Housekeeping

Read More Read Less

Claire Evans

Claire Evans is an established business specialist in the UK television industry. After finishing her law degree, she qualified as an accountant, but realising her mistake quickly ran away to work at the National Theatre before finally landing a job at the BBC. Once there, she rose through the ranks to head up operations and business affairs across the TV commissioning teams. In drama, she led the BBC's commercial relationships with the Independent production sector and a wide range of international co-producers and distributors.

She left the BBC in 2013 to pursue her writing career. Since then she has advised a number of drama and film production companies, most recently working on The Honourable Woman and Doctor Foster. She is also now the Chief Operating Officer at Two Brothers Pictures Ltd, the company set up by Harry and Jack Williams, the creators of The Missing.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay