Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

The Graves of Whitechapel

Claire Evans

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense

A atmospheric, gripping thriller set in turn-of-the-century London by the author of The Fourteenth Letter, for fans of Andrew Taylor, The Interpretation of Murder and The Alienist

In the gripping new novel by the author of The Fourteenth Letter, a lawyer in Victorian London must find a man he got off a murder charge - and who seems to have killed again . . .

Victorian London, 1882. Five years ago, crusading lawyer Cage Lackmann successfully defended Moses Pickering against a charge of murder. Now, a body is found bearing all the disturbing hallmarks of that victim - and Pickering is missing. Did Cage free a brutal murderer?

Cage's reputation is in tatters, and worse, he is implicated in this new murder by the bitter detective who led the first failed case. Left with no other alternative, Cage must find Pickering to prove his innocence.

His increasingly desperate search takes him back to the past, to a woman he never thought to see again, and down into a warren of lies and betrayals concealed beneath Holland Park mansions and the mean streets of Whitechapel - where a murderer, heartbreak and revenge lie in wait.

PRAISE FOR CLAIRE EVANS 'Exuberant plotting and witty prose. Great fun'
The Times

'A darkly brilliant romp packed with intrigue and romance . . . curl up and prepare to become immersed'
Heat

'If you enjoyed Kate Mosse's Labyrinth or Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist, then chances are you're going to love this new thriller'
Hello Magazine

'Claire Evans has created a cast of deliciously sinister and mysterious characters. A hugely satisfying read'
Good Housekeeping

'I stayed up far too late reading this night after night. IT WILL GET YOU HOOKED'
Herald Sun

'Claire Evans's debut novel is exciting, ingenious'
Good Reading Magazine

'Will keep you guessing'
Crime Fiction Lover

'The Fourteenth Letter is well researched, well plotted, well written and a jolly good read'
Promoting Crime Fiction blog

'A delicious and surprising debut novel. Thrilling'
Love It Magazine

'Builds to a shattering conclusion - it will repay your patience over and again. this is a superb story, well worth the read'
Crime Review

'A truly thrilling read, and I will be looking out for this author's next book. Highly recommended'
MyShelf (blog)

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Graves of Whitechapel

  • Exuberant plotting and witty prose. Great fun - The Times (on The Fourteenth Letter)

  • A darkly brilliant romp packed with intrigue and romance . . . curl up and prepare to become immersed - Heat (on The Fourteenth Letter)

  • Claire Evans has created a cast of deliciously sinister and mysterious characters. A hugely satisfying read - Good Housekeeping (on The Fourteenth Letter)

  • I stayed up far too late reading this night after night. IT WILL GET YOU HOOKED - Herald Sun (on The Fourteenth Letter)

Read More Read Less

Claire Evans

Claire Evans is an established business specialist in the UK television industry. After finishing her law degree, she qualified as an accountant, but realising her mistake quickly ran away to work at the National Theatre before finally landing a job at the BBC. Once there, she rose through the ranks to head up operations and business affairs across the TV commissioning teams. In drama, she led the BBC's commercial relationships with the Independent production sector and a wide range of international co-producers and distributors.

She left the BBC in 2013 to pursue her writing career. Since then she has advised a number of drama and film production companies, most recently working on The Honourable Woman and Doctor Foster. She is also now the Chief Operating Officer at Two Brothers Pictures Ltd, the company set up by Harry and Jack Williams, the creators of The Missing.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay