Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N

The Most Fun We Ever Had: Longlisted for the Women s Prize for Fiction 2020

Claire Lombardo

9 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Adoption

'The literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler' Observer

'A gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory' Madeline Miller

'Should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan' Sunday Times

'The perfect, engrossing holiday read' Red

MEET THE SORENSON FAMILY
MARILYN has somehow fallen into motherhood and spent four decades married to
DAVID, who's pretty certain he loves her more than anyone has ever loved another person.
WENDY, their eldest, a cause for concern, soothes herself with drink after being widowed young,
while VIOLET, lawyer-turned-stay-at-home-mother, is disturbed by the reappearance of a son placed for adoption fifteen years earlier.
LIZA, a professor, is pregnant with a baby she's not sure she wants by a man she's not sure she loves
and GRACE, their dawdling youngest daughter, lives a lie that no one in her family suspects.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Most Fun We Ever Had: Longlisted for the Women s Prize for Fiction 2020

  • If ever there were to be a literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler, then Claire Lombardo's outstanding debut, which ranges from ebullience to despair by way of caustic but intense familial bonds, would be a worthy offspring...This is a novel epic in scope-emotionally, psychologically and narratively. Combining a broad thematic canvas with impressive emotional nuance, it's an assured and highly enjoyable debut.

  • - GUARDIAN

  • A rich, engrossing family saga, spiked with sisterly malice...[rendered] with such skill and finely tuned interest that it feels like a quiet subversion of the traditional family saga. - The New York Times Book Review

  • The big family saga of the summer - EW

  • A sharp, sly family story of feminine guile and guilt...A fun and brimming tale...Divine - Kirkus

  • An expansive U.S. family saga, expertly rendered - Daily Mail

  • Lombardo has a wry, often spiky humour and tightly written style that should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan ... A moving, immersive, often very funny study of family and sisterhood. - Sunday Times

  • A spry, sly and funny read - Sunday Express

  • A funny, complex, tragic and immersive family sage which spans forty years. This is the perfect, engrossing holiday read - Red

Read More Read Less

Claire Lombardo

Claire Lombardo is a 2017 graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and has been the recipient of an Iowa Arts Fellowship and a Sun Valley Writers' Conference Fellowship. She is currently an adjunct professor of creative writing at the University of Iowa, and teaches fiction writing at the Iowa Young Writers' Studio. Her short fiction has appeared in, among others, Barrelhouse Magazine, Little Fiction, and Longform. Born and raised in Oak Park, Illinois, she now lives in Iowa City.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay