Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Constable
  • Constable
  • Constable

The Devil Aspect

Craig Russell

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

From award-winning author Craig Russell comes a psychological tale of horror and suspense. Six confined psychopaths; a killer on the loose.

'A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller . . . ingenious' (A. J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window)


Six confined psychopaths. A killer on the loose.

1935. As Europe prepares itself for a calamitous war, six homicidal lunatics - the so-called 'Devil's Six' - are confined in a remote castle asylum in rural Czechoslovakia. Each patient has their own dark story to tell and Dr Viktor Kosarek, a young psychiatrist using revolutionary techniques, is tasked with unlocking their murderous secrets.

At the same time, a terrifying killer known as 'Leather Apron' is butchering victims across Prague. Successfully eluding capture, it would seem his depraved crimes are committed by the Devil himself.
Maybe they are... and what links him with the insane inmates of the Castle of the Eagles?

Only the Devil knows. And it is up to Viktor to find out.

'Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading... With all the lights on. Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!' Alex Grecian, New York Times bestselling author of The Yard

'A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller - elegant, edgy, ingenious. Craig Russell conjures not one but two unforgettable settings: Prague between the wars, pulsing with menace, and a Gothic mental asylum, as exciting a house of horrors as I've ever visited. You'll enter both with dread. You'll dwell in them with relish' A. J. Finn, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

'Sensational serial killer novel . . . in which twists are both jaw-dropping and logical . . . a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris' Publishers Weekly 'Steeped in the chilling folklore of Eastern Europe and echoing the dread of a barbaric war to come, The Devil Aspect snatches the reader by the lapels for a thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind' Daniel H. Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse

'A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller . . . an ending that left me dazed' Lincoln Child, New York Times bestselling author

'Dark, stylish and packed with jaw-dropping twists, The Devil Aspect stayed with me long after I'd turned the final page. Part Gothic horror, part crime thriller, it's an astonishing piece of work' M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show

'A superior thriller, at once stylish, absorbing and compulsive . . . a taut and chilling tale, expertl
Read More Read Less

Praise for The Devil Aspect

  • A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller - elegant, edgy, ingenious. Craig Russell conjures not one but two unforgettable settings: Prague between the wars, pulsing with menace, and a Gothic mental asylum, as exciting a house of horrors as I've ever visited. You'll enter both with dread. You'll dwell in them with relish

  • Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading... With all the lights on Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!

  • Dark, stylish and packed with jaw-dropping twists, The Devil Aspect stayed with me long after I'd turned the final page. Part Gothic horror, part crime thriller, it's an astonishing piece of work

  • A superior thriller, at once stylish, absorbing and compulsive . . . a taut and chilling tale, expertly crafted against the backdrop of ethnic tensions in pre-Second World War Czechoslovakia . . . I was gripped from the very first page right up to that haunting denouement

Read More Read Less

Craig Russell

Craig Russell is the author of the Jan Fabel thrillers set in contemporary Hamburg and the Lennox series set in 1950s Glasgow. He is the only non-German to have been awarded the Polizeistern (Police Star) by the Polizei Hamburg. He has been shortlisted for the CWA Duncan Lawrie Golden Dagger, the French Prix Polar, the 2012 Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year and the 2013 Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, and has won the CWA Dagger in the Library and the 2015 Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay