Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Those Above: The Empty Throne Book 1

Daniel Polansky

5 Reviews

Rated 0

The Empty Throne, Fiction, Thriller / suspense, Science fiction, Fantasy

The first in an explosive new epic fantasy series by Daniel Polansky, perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence.

They enslaved humanity three thousand years ago. Tall, strong, perfect, superhuman and near immortal they rule from their glittering palaces in the eternal city in the centre of the world. They are called Those Above by their subjects. They enforce their will with fire and sword.

Twenty five years ago mankind mustered an army and rose up against them, only to be slaughtered in a terrible battle. Hope died that day, but hatred survived. Whispers of another revolt are beginning to stir in the hearts of the oppressed: a woman, widowed in the war, who has dedicated her life to revenge; the general, the only man to ever defeat one of Those Above in single combat, summoned forth to raise a new legion; and a boy killer who rises from the gutter to lead an uprising in the capital.

THOSE ABOVE is the first of an extraordinary new fantasy epic by the author of the acclaimed Low Town series that will sweep the reader into a wholly alien, wholly recognizable world of rebellion and revenge, of love and of death, of intrigue and pitiless war.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Those Above: The Empty Throne Book 1

  • Those looking for well-createed and beautifully created fantasy, which also happen to be both darkly comic and devastatingly grim, will find themselves swiftly addicted. - Starburst

  • Dark fantasy with a decidedly military bent, THOSE ABOVE is the perfect opener for Daniel Polansky's career beyond Low Town. With his unmistakeable voice and his highly original new world, he draws the reader slowly in until it's impossible to put the book down and escape back to reality. A brilliant start to what is sure to be one of the fantasy epics of all time, THOSE ABOVE is the work of an author at the top of his game and brings with it the promise of a lot more to come. - Reader Dad

  • THOSE ABOVE is I, Claudius by way of Tolkien and filtered through Chandler. That is to say, really damn good. - Pornokitsch

  • From low conflict to high skulduggery, this is Daniel Polansky's most assured and engrossing novel yet. - The Sci Fi Bulletin

  • Gripping... Polansky has pulled off a polished fantasy thriller that's very much in the George RR Martin/Joe Abercrombie vein, but has still given the book its own distinctive style and voice, alongside plenty of evocative world-building. The Empty Throne (series) looks set to be fascinating and provocative. - SFX

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Low Town: The Straight Razor Cure by Daniel Polansky

Right
Left
loading...

Low Town: The Straight Razor Cure by Daniel Polansky

Right

Daniel Polansky

Daniel Polansky was born in Baltimore, Maryland. He currently resides abroad. The Straight Razor Cure is his first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay