Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books

Shattermoon: The Long Game Book 1

Dominic Dulley

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Science fiction, Space opera

A shattered moon. A secret plan. Last girl standing. Fans of Alastair Reynolds, Charles Stross and Peter Hamilton will love Orry Kent.

A shattered moon. A secret plan. Last girl standing. Perfect for fans of Peter Hamilton, Alastair Reynolds and Charles Stross.

Orry's father is the best conman in the quadrant, running elaborate heists with Orry and her brother Ethan to target the ruling families of the Ascendancy. This time should be no different: straight in and out with a fortune in spice paragon in hand . . .

. . . until Orry goes off-script and everything falls apart. Less than an hour later the Count of Delf's only grandson is dead and she's on the run, accused of a murder she didn't commit.

Turns out, the pendant Orry stole was crafted by the mysterious civilisation who once lived on the Shattermoon - and a lot of powerful people want it. It doesn't take ruthless space pirate Morven Dyas long to track her down, and he's not the only one on her tail. When she's unexpectedly rescued by loner Jurgen Mender and his spaceship, Dainty Jane, Orry knows there's only one thing to do.

It requires all of her powers of persuasion to get Mender to agree to her plan, especially when even she can see the madness of pitting an inexperienced young grifter, a space-dog long past his best and an obsolete spaceship against the Imperial Fleet, the worst of the space pirates - and the alien Kadiran, who are getting bored with their uneasy truce with humankind . . .

But what other choice does she have?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Shattermoon: The Long Game Book 1

  • A riptide of excitement, it totally swept me away! - Daniel Godfrey, author of New Pompeii

  • Dominic Dulley's Shattermoon is big screen space opera at its most entertaining. With a welcome hint of an updated Stainless Steel Rat, Orry Kent makes for an engaging and savvy protagonist. A very impressive debut novel! - Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion

  • Imaginative world-building . . . a lively sci-fi romp - SFX

Read More Read Less

Dominic Dulley

Dominic Dulley is a software developer with a passion for SF. His short fiction has been published widely, in books, journals and magazines. Shattermoon is his first novel, and the start of the fast-moving space opera The Long Game. He lives with his wife and family in Warwick.