Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

Breaking Point: The most gripping debut of 2022 - you won't be able to look away

Edel Coffey

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The Irish Times bestseller is here in paperback. The gripping and emotional story of a woman pushed to breaking point from an exciting new voice in fiction.

'Breaking Point is raw, compelling, and ground-breaking; Coffey puts the life of working mothers under a microscope. To say I loved it is an understatement, I expect it will be a huge success.' Liz Nugent

'A gripping, compulsive pageturner about what we expect from women, especially mothers. It's going to be a massive hit.' Marian Keyes

'Both page-turner and gripping courtroom drama, this has much to say about the expectations and judgement put on women when they become mothers. Prepare to feel devastated and enraged all at once.' Heat


One mistake could cost her everything.

Susannah has two beautiful daughters, a high-flying medical career, a successful husband and an enviable life. Her hair is glossy, her clothes are expensive; she truly has it all.

But when - on the hottest day of the year - her strict morning routine is disrupted, Susannah finds herself running on autopilot. It is hours before she realises she has made a devastating mistake. Her baby, Louise, is still in the backseat of the car and it is too late to save her.

As the press close in around her, Susannah is put on trial for negligence. It is plain to see that this is not a trial, it's a witch hunt. But what will the court say?

Readers love Breaking Point:
'A genuine contender for best book I have read this year.' *****
'I was reading through the tears and couldn't read it fast enough' *****
'An excellent novel, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain' *****
'If you want an addictive, pacey read, this is for you!' *****
'I was a bit of an emotional wreck at the end' *****

'A very thought-provoking story that will no doubt resonate with parents everywhere' Sun

'Powerful' Best


'A rare treat, an emotional thriller steeped in humanity. I read it in a single sitting!' John Boyne

'Gripping, unswerving, heart-breaking, you'll read this book through parted fingers - and learn a crucial lesson as you go.' Celia Walden, author of Payday

'Really enjoyed this terrifyingly plausible debut, with much to say about parental guilt and how society treats working motherhood.' Katherine Faulkner, author of Greenwich Park

'An incredibly powerful thriller with real emotional depth - and a chillingly relatable storyline.' TM Logan, author of The Holiday

Read More Read Less

Praise for Breaking Point: The most gripping debut of 2022 - you won't be able to look away

  • It grips from get go. - The Gloss

  • You won't be able to put this one down. - Stellar Magazine

  • It's a knockout, you're going to love it. - RTE

  • Skilfully explores what it means to be a woman trying to juggle it all - and the consequences when tragedy strikes. You won't be able to put this down. - Image Magazine

  • Expect this book to be a mainstay of bookclubs in 2022. - The Irish Sunday Business Post

  • Breaking Point has all the hallmarks of a future bestseller . . . it has the pace, setting and glamour of a Hollywood thriller. - Irish Times

  • This is not only a gripping page-turner and gripping courtroom drama, it also has a lot to say about the expectations and judgement put on women when they become mothers. Prepare to feel devastated and enraged all at once. - Crime Monthly

  • This very human story examines the heavy burden on working mothers, spinning the innumerable plates of parenting and career. Are working women set up to lose, to fail their children, and to fail themselves? Shocking, thought-provoking, and necessary, Breaking Point will change hearts and minds.

Read More Read Less

Edel Coffey

Edel Coffey is an Irish journalist and broadcaster. She began work as an arts journalist and editor with the Sunday Tribune. She has since worked as a presenter and reporter with RTE radio, and as editor of the Irish Independent Weekend Magazine, and Books Editor of the Irish Independent. She lives in Galway with her husband and children.

Breaking Point is her first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay