Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

She Came to Stay: A page-turning novel of friendship, secrets and lies, set against the grimy and glittering streets of 1950s Soho

Eleni Kyriacou

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical fiction

She Came to Stay is a story of new beginnings and friendships, family, love and loss set against the grimy and glittering streets of fifties Soho. From an exciting debut author.

'An atmospheric page-turner perfectly set in the smoke and glitter of a vanished world . . . gripping' - Erin Kelly, bestselling author of He Said/She Said

In a city of strangers, who can you trust?

London, 1952. Dina Demetriou has travelled from Cyprus for a better life. She's certain that excitement, adventure and opportunity are out there, waiting - if only she knew where to look.

Her passion for clothes and flair for sewing land her a job repairing the glittering costumes at the notorious Pelican Revue. It's here that she befriends the mysterious and beautiful Bebba.

With her bleached-blonde hair and an appetite for mischief, Bebba is like no Greek Dina has ever met before. She guides Dina around the fashionable shops, bars and clubs of Soho, and Dina finally feels life has begun.

But Bebba has a secret. And as thick smog brings the city to a standstill, the truth emerges with devastating results. Dina's new life now hangs by a thread. What will be left when the fog finally clears? And will Dina be willing to risk everything to protect her future?

A story of friendship, family, love and loss set against the grimy and glittering streets of fifties Soho. For fans of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Rhys. Further praise for SHE CAME TO STAY:

'Compelling and beautifully observed. Kyriacou brilliantly evokes the violence and the grime beneath the sequins and surface glamour of 1950s Soho' - Rachel Rhys, bestselling author of Dangerous Crossing

'I absolutely loved it. A gripping, enthralling story . . . I was completely engrossed' - Laura Marshall, bestselling author of Friend Request

'An absorbing story of friendship, betrayal and resilience' - Sarah Maine, bestselling author of Beyond the Wild River

'A gripping, evocative story . . . well researched and utterly convincing. A real gem of a book' - Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter

'An evocative page-turner full of memorable characters. A wonderful debut' - Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl

Read More Read Less

Praise for She Came to Stay: A page-turning novel of friendship, secrets and lies, set against the grimy and glittering streets of 1950s Soho

  • She Came To Stay is a gripping story about friendship, family and the meaning of home. An atmospheric page-turner perfectly set in the smoke and glitter of a vanished world.

  • Set in the dazzling world of 1950s Soho, She Came to Stay is an evocative page-turner full of memorable characters who stayed inside my head long after I had finished reading. Eleni Kyriacou has written a wonderful debut

  • I absolutely loved it - a gripping, enthralling story with characters I loved (and hated!), and so atmospheric, I was completely engrossed in the world of 1950s Soho

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay