Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Poison Tree

Erin Kelly

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery

Stunning psychological suspense debut in the vein of Barbara Vine and Tana French.

It is the sweltering summer of 1997, and Karen is a strait-laced, straight-A university student. When she meets the impossibly glamorous Biba, a bohemian orphan who lives in a crumbling old mansion in Highgate with her enigmatic brother Rex, she is soon drawn into their world but something terrible is about to happen, and someone's going to end up dead . . .

Already drawing comparisons to Barbara Vine, Tana French and Sophie Hannah, Erin Kelly is an extraordinarily talented new author.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Poison Tree

  • A dark, poetic, gripping, totally brilliant Brideshead Revisited for the 21st century - The Times

  • A beautifully crafted, evocative psychological thriller . . . A dark, poetic, gripping, totally brilliant Brideshead Revisited for the 21st century - The Times

  • A terrific suspense debut, reminiscent of another British woman's auspicious bow: Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca. The shadows gather until the ending looms like a threatening figure. This one gets the writer's ultimate bit of praise: I wish I had written it. - Stephen King

  • A terrific suspense debut, reminiscent of another British woman's auspicious bow: Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca. The shadows gather until the ending looms like a threatening figure. This one gets the writer's ultimate bit of praise: I wish I had written it. - Stephen King

  • (An) excellent debut psychological thriller, reminiscent of early Barbara Vine. - Daily Mail Books of the Year

  • An unusually good debut psychological thriller from an author who instinctively knows how to tell a suspense story (think early Barbara Vine) and whose plotting, characterisation, fluent writing and dark humour should ensure her a successful career. - Daily Mail

  • A wonderfully tense and foreboding thriller that is at the same time a clever, considered study of desire and a good old-fashioned page-turner. - Psychologies

  • Brilliant! THE POISON TREE grabs you with the first sentence and doesn't let go--even after the last page; this is the sort of thriller that stays with you for a long, long time. Compelling and lyrically stylish, THE POISON TREE is a true winner! - Jeffery Deaver

Read More Read Less

Erin Kelly

Erin Kelly is the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Poison Tree, The Sick Rose, The Burning Air, The Ties That Bind, He Said/She Said, Stone Mothers and Broadchurch: The Novel, inspired by the mega-hit TV series. In 2013, The Poison Tree became a major ITV drama and was a Richard & Judy Summer Read in 2011. He Said/She Said spent six weeks in the top ten in both hardback and paperback, was longlisted for the Theakston's Old Peculier crime novel of the year award, and selected for both the Simon Mayo Radio 2 and Richard & Judy Book Clubs. She has worked as a freelance journalist since 1998 and written for the Guardian, The Sunday Times, Daily Mail, New Statesman, Red, Elle, Cosmopolitan and The Pool. Born in London in 1976, she lives in north London with her husband and daughters. erinkelly.co.uk twitter.com/mserinkelly

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay