Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus

Seven Days of Us

Francesca Hornak

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

For fans of David Nicholls and Richard Curtis movies, this is an observational, tender and heart-warming drama about the trials and tribulations of spending a week with your family at Christmas.

<font size="+1">'One of the best books of the year' Hello!</font>

The utterly brilliant, life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day.

It's Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years.

Emma is elated at having everybody under one roof, but her oldest child, Olivia, is only home because she has nowhere else to go. She's just returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must stay in quarantine for a week - and so, too should her family.

For the next seven days, no one can leave the house and no one can enter.

It doesn't sound too hard. But a week with your nearest and dearest can feel like an eternity, especially when they're all harbouring secrets.

One of whom is about to come knocking at their door...

Praise for Seven Days of Us:

'Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has "Working Title film deal" written all over it' Glamour

'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail

'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!' Marian Keyes

'Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won't let go' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

'Expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit' The i 'Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable' Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us 'Compassionate, witty and wise' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail

'I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable, thanks to Francesca Hornak's acutely observational storytelling. The family tension is all too real. Brilliant!' The Unmumsy Mum

'Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!' Maeve Haran, bestselling author of Having it All

'Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it' Adele Geras

Read More Read Less

Francesca Hornak

Francesca Hornak is a journalist and writer, whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines including The Sunday Times, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, Grazia and Stylist. Her column History Of The World In 100 Modern Objects first appeared in The Sunday Times Style Magazine in 2013 and ran for two years, later becoming a title with Portico. Francesca is also the author of a second non-fiction book, Worry with Mother (Portico).