Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus

Seven Days of Us: The Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club choice for Christmas

Francesca Hornak

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

For fans of David Nicholls and Richard Curtis movies, this is an observational, tender and heart-warming drama about the trials and tribulations of spending a week with your family at Christmas.

'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, SEVEN DAYS OF US is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!' Marian Keyes
SEVEN DAYS OF US, is a funny, tender, sometimes shocking but ultimately heart-warming family drama about a family forced into spending a week together at Christmas. For fans of David Nicholls and blockbuster movies such as Love Actually and Four Weddings and a Funeral.


A week is a long time to spend with your family...

It's Christmas, and the Birch family are coming together at their second home in Norfolk. Emma and Andrew's daughter, Olivia, is back for the first time in years, and while Emma is elated at them all being under one roof, her younger, more frivolous daughter Phoebe is braced for inevitable clashes.

But aid worker Olivia is only home because she has nowhere else to go. Having recently returned from Africa, where she's been treating a life-threatening virus, she has been told that she must stay in quarantine for a week, and so, too should her family.

For the next seven days, no one can leave the house, and no one can enter.

It doesn't sound too hard. But a week with your nearest and dearest can feel like an eternity, especially when they're all harbouring secrets.

One of whom is about to come knocking on their door...

Read More Read Less

Praise for Seven Days of Us: The Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club choice for Christmas

  • LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous! - Marian Keyes

  • I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable, thanks to Francesca Hornak's acutely observational storytelling. The family tension is all too real. Brilliant! - The Unmumsy Mum

  • Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won't let go. - Rosamund Lupton

  • Hornak's wry, masterful portrayal of a family in crisis is filled with flawed and funny characters who will capture - and break - your heart - Fiona Davis, author of The Dollhouse

  • Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it

  • An absolute cracker. - Australian Women's Weekly

Read More Read Less

Francesca Hornak

Francesca Hornak is a journalist and writer, whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines including The Sunday Times, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, Grazia and Stylist. Her column History Of The World In 100 Modern Objects first appeared in The Sunday Times Style Magazine in 2013 and ran for two years, later becoming a title with Portico. Francesca is also the author of a second non-fiction book, Worry with Mother (Portico).