Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Fleet
  • Fleet
  • Fleet

We Swim to the Shark

Georgie Codd

Write Review

Rated 0

Memoirs

For readers of The Outrun and The Salt Path a meditation on diving and fear, and what we're all really afraid of

Georgie Codd is scared of fish. Really, really scared, even on dry land there's no escape: Georgie sees sharks in the dining room, squid tentacles in the street, has nightmares of being stranded at sea.

Granny Codd understands. She has spent her life beside the water, but won't so much as paddle in it. Georgie's boyfriend is supportive, too, even when she decides that the answer to overcoming this fear lies in travelling to Thailand, learning to dive, and swimming with the biggest fish in the world: the massive, mighty whale shark.

Could this immersive therapy actually work? There's only one way to find out. An anxious Georgie quits her job, leaves her life behind, and plunges into a realm of strange creatures, hidden depths, and intrepid diving adventurers. But as her quest expands across the oceans, her shark remains elusive, and everything else starts to fall apart around her.

On this journey that veers towards death and destruction, Georgie must not only track down her shark, but find her way back to the surface.

Read More Read Less

Georgie Codd

Georgie Codd has worked behind the scenes at a funeral parlour, taught English in a Himalayan nunnery, edited publications for the Tibetan Government in Exile, and shadowed drug dealers in Florida City. She is a graduate of the University of East Anglia's Prose-writing MA, where her flash fiction won the Seth Donaldson Bursary.

We Swim to the Shark is her first book.

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay