Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Sphere

Odd Child Out

Gilly Macmillan

Write Review

Rated 0

Di Jim Clemo, Fiction, Crime & mystery

'A hugely satisfying and thrilling read. Highly recommended' Shari Lapena, bestselling author of The Couple Next Door.

The international bestselling author of WHAT SHE KNEW and THE PERFECT GIRL returns with a whip-smart DI Jim Clemo crime thriller about buried secrets and how the truth will always hurt. For fans of Susie Steiner and Sarah Hilary.

Two best friends. One terrible event.

Abdi Mahal and Noah Sadler have been inseparable since they met. They've stuck together, even when their peers have excluded them. But when a horrifying incident leaves Noah in a coma and fighting for his life, Abdi is too traumatised to say anything about what happened.

DI Jim Clemo, freshly returned to work after an enforced leave of absence, is tasked to investigate. And against a backdrop of a city where racial tensions are running high, he must determine what really happened to drive two teenage boys into a situation so desperate.

Everything rests on one of the boys talking.

But one can't talk. And one won't.

Praise for Gilly Macmillan:

'Amazing, gripping, beautifully written' Liane Moriarty

'Deserves to stay on the bestseller list' Daily Mail

'Electrifyingly good. An absolute firecracker of a thriller' Sunday Mirror

'A nail-biting, sleep-depriving, brilliant read' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

'Literary suspense at its finest' Mary Kubica

'Deceptively clever' Rosamund Lupton

'Utterly gripping' Tim Weaver

Read More Read Less

Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan is the New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew and The Perfect Girl. She trained as an art historian and worked at The Burlington Magazine and the Hayward Gallery before starting a family. Since then she's worked as a lecturer in photography, and now writes full-time. She resides in Bristol, England.