Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Piatkus
  • Sphere

Odd Child Out

Gilly Macmillan

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Di Jim Clemo, Fiction, Crime & mystery

The international bestselling author of WHAT SHE KNEW and THE PERFECT GIRL returns with a whip-smart DI Jim Clemo crime thriller about buried secrets and how the truth will always hurt. For fans of Susie Steiner and Sarah Hilary.

'A hugely satisfying and thrilling read. Highly recommended!'
Shari Lapena, International bestselling author of The Couple Next Door


Two best friends. One terrible event.

Abdi Mahal and Noah Sadler have been inseparable since they met. They've stuck together, even when their peers have excluded them. But when a horrifying incident leaves Noah in a coma and fighting for his life, Abdi is too traumatised to say anything about what happened.

DI Jim Clemo, freshly returned to work after an enforced leave of absence, is tasked to investigate. And against a backdrop of a city where racial tensions are running high, he must determine what really happened to drive two teenage boys into a situation so desperate.

Everything rests on one of the boys talking.

But one can't talk.

And one won't.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Odd Child Out

  • Masterfully drawn characters and intricate plotting make this a stunning piece of crime fiction - Booklist on The Perfect Girl

  • Gilly Macmillan's voice is innovative and confident, and she creates a cast of very human characters - Charity Norman

  • An unusual plot is accompanied by sharp characters and a thought-provoking denouement - The Times on The Perfect Girl

  • Intense, electrifying...grips like a python from the first page - Daily Mail on The Perfect Girl

  • Dark, smart and compelling, rather than thrilling or suspenseful, this second DI Jim Clemo instalment tackles several of the political and social issues our world is grappling with now. Bristol (UK)based author MacMillan's third novel is an immensely satisfying read. - Courier Mail

Read More Read Less

Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan is the New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew and The Perfect Girl. She trained as an art historian and worked at The Burlington Magazine and the Hayward Gallery before starting a family. Since then she's worked as a lecturer in photography, and now writes full-time. She resides in Bristol, England.