Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Piatkus
  • Sphere

Odd Child Out: The most heart-stopping crime thriller you'll read this year

Gilly Macmillan

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Di Jim Clemo, Fiction, Crime & mystery

'A hugely satisfying and thrilling read' Shari Lapena

'A brilliant, edge-of-the-seat thriller written with humanity, warmth and grace. I loved it!' Saskia Sarginson Two best friends. One terrible event.

Abdi Mahal and Noah Sadler have been inseparable since they met. They've stuck together, even when their peers have excluded them. But when a horrifying incident leaves Noah in a coma and fighting for his life, Abdi is too traumatised to say anything about what happened.

DI Jim Clemo, freshly returned to work after an enforced leave of absence, is tasked to investigate. And against a backdrop of a city where racial tensions are running high, he must determine what really happened to drive two teenage boys into a situation so desperate.

Everything rests on one of the boys talking.

But one can't talk. And one won't.

The international bestselling author of WHAT SHE KNEW and THE PERFECT GIRL returns with a whip-smart DI Jim Clemo crime thriller about buried secrets and how the truth will always hurt. For fans of THE CHILD, THEN SHE WAS GONE and CLOSE TO HOME. Praise for Gilly Macmillan:

'Amazing, gripping, beautifully written' Liane Moriarty

'Deserves to stay on the bestseller list' Daily Mail

'Electrifyingly good. An absolute firecracker of a thriller' Sunday Mirror

'A nail-biting, sleep-depriving, brilliant read' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

'Literary suspense at its finest' Mary Kubica

'Deceptively clever' Rosamund Lupton

'Utterly gripping' Tim Weaver

Read More Read Less

Praise for Odd Child Out: The most heart-stopping crime thriller you'll read this year

  • Gilly Macmillan's voice is innovative and confident, and she creates a cast of very human characters - Charity Norman

  • Intense, electrifying...grips like a python from the first page - Daily Mail on The Perfect Girl

  • An unusual plot is accompanied by sharp characters and a thought-provoking denouement - The Times on The Perfect Girl

  • Masterfully drawn characters and intricate plotting make this a stunning piece of crime fiction - Booklist on The Perfect Girl

Read More Read Less
Write a Review

Reader reviews (1)

  • Odd Child Out is the second book in the Jim Clemo series by British author, Gilly Macmillan. Two Bristol teenagers, on a sleepover. Good boys, smart, a bit nerdy, inseparable best friends. How, then, in the early hours of the morning, does Noah Sadler come to be unconscious in the Feeder Canal while Abdi Mahan stands at the edge? By the time DI Jim Clemo catches the case, on his first day back after six months of leave, Noah is in the ICU in an induced coma and Abdi hasn’t spoken a word. Clemo and his sidekick, DC Justin Woodley are expecting a quick solution, but “neither of us recognised this case for what it really was: menacing, strong and smooth, perhaps not making waves at first, but able to turn on a dime and surprise you with a razor-toothed bite. This case was actually a shark.” As they investigate – chasing down CCTV footage, searching for a missing backpack and mobile phone, double-checking details with a witness – Clemo tries to maintain focus despite distractions: his sister, Becky has left her abusive partner to doss down with Jim; and ex-police DC Emma Zhang (with whom he has some personal history) is now a crime reporter for the Bristol Echo, and seems determined to make Clemo’s case a focal point for the racial tensions currently boiling over in Bristol. Using a mix of first-person and third-person narrative, Macmillan gives the reader a believable plot that twists and turns and moves along at a fair clip to a gripping climax. Her characters are realistic and their emotions and feelings - grief, anger, resentment and jealousy - are well conveyed. She throws in a few red herrings to keep the reader guessing and the pages turning. Macmillan touches on some topical themes: the expectation that refugees who may well be suffering from PTSD are expected to assimilate in their new country; the effect of a cancer diagnosis on how we interact with a person; the tendency for the media to focus on and sensationalise horror in third world countries. Another brilliant read from this talented author.

    Marianne Vincent

    Rated 5
Read More Read Less

Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan is the New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew and The Perfect Girl. She trained as an art historian and worked at The Burlington Magazine and the Hayward Gallery before starting a family. Since then she's worked as a lecturer in photography, and now writes full-time. She resides in Bristol, England.