Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY follows three young men on a London council estate over 48 hours when suddenly everything is at stake

Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or THIS IS ENGLAND.

'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'A swaggering yet tender and polyphonic debut which capture the nuance of black experience on the streets of London' Observer

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

Read More Read Less

Praise for In Our Mad and Furious City

  • A timely read, addressing the urgent questions of our divided society. We're sure Guy is set for big things - Metro

  • It hooked me right from the start and never let go. It really is a very special book - the book we've all been waiting for

  • Guy's characters are drawn with compassion and flair, and I was captivated by their humanity

  • Guy Gunaratne tells a compelling tale. He channels the language of the street while handling complex narrative structures with heady flair. He is plainly a talent to watch

Read More Read Less

Guy Gunaratne

Guy Gunaratne grew up in North West London and has worked as a designer, documentary filmmaker and video journalist covering post-conflict areas around the world, as well as co-founding two technology companies. He was shortlisted for the 4th Estate/Guardian Books B4ME Short Story Prize.