Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Butterfly Summer: From the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE GARDEN OF LOST AND FOUND and THE WILDFLOWERS

Harriet Evans

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Cornwall, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A delightful new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Hopeless Romantic and A Place for Us

'Heart-stopping and wonderful . . . an epic, sweeping, romantic story told brilliantly' Sophie Kinsella

It begins and ends with Keepsake, the house that holds its shadows too tightly.
From Harriet Evans, the author of Richard and Judy Summer Book Club pick The Wildflowers and Sunday Times bestseller A Place For Us, The Butterfly Summer is the IDEAL book to curl up with as the nights draw in. Nina Parr's mother has lied to her for most of her life. But when Nina inherits Keepsake, a long-forgotten house in Cornwall, she pieces together a sad truth that reaches back to the outbreak of war in the 1930s. A must-read for fans of Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore.

What magic is this?

You follow the hidden creek towards a long-forgotten house.

They call it Keepsake, a place full of wonder . . . and danger. Locked inside the crumbling elegance of its walls lies the story of the Butterfly Summer, a story you've been waiting all your life to hear.

This house is Nina Parr's birthright. It holds the truth about her family - and a chance to put everything right at last.

Harriet Evans. She brings you home.

Two things happen when you are a Parr girl: when you are ten, you are told about your future role.

The second thing that a Parr girl at some point must learn is harder to tell of.

It is a dark work indeed, the business of this house, hidden from the world.

READERS LOVE HARRIET EVANS.
Praise for The Butterfly Summer:

'Loved it' Gill Hornby

'A delightfully engrossing read' Red magazine

'Moving, gripping, heartbreaking' Kate Williams

'Great characters, gorge house, intriguing mystery, what's not to love?!' Lucy Diamond

'Multi-layered, heartbreaking and as beautiful as a butterfly wing' Veronica Henry

'A crumbling house in Cornwall and a family with lots of secrets are brought to life by the evocativewriting in Harriet Evans' novel The Butterfly Summer' Good Housekeeping

'Gorgeous' Stylist

'Harriet Evans' writing is just perfect' Linda's Book Bag

THE WILDFLOWERS, Harriet Evans's latest breathtaking novel, is available now

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Butterfly Summer: From the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE GARDEN OF LOST AND FOUND and THE WILDFLOWERS

  • Harriet Evans is a master at creating characters you feel like you know inside out ... an unputdownable thrill of a novel - Heat on A Place for Us

  • This brilliantly written portrait of a fascinating family in crisis is an emtionally intelligent, thoughtful and engaging read - Daily Mail on A Place for Us

  • A touching family saga with true-to-life characters ... Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy, this heart-warming book is a joy to read - Best on A Place for Us

  • Evans's gift for characterisation and appreciation of complicated family dynamics singles this novel out as superior romantic fare - Independent on Love Always

  • A lovely, funny heart-warmer ... effortlessly readable - Marie Claire on Going Home

  • You'll race through the pages desperate to find out what happens next - Heat on Not Without You

  • Brilliantly observed and emotionally charged throughout - Daily Mirror on The Love of Her Life

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Harriet Evans talks about researching her latest novel, A PLACE FOR US

loading...

Harriet Evans talks about the secret at the heart of A PLACE FOR US

loading...

Harriet Evans on creating the perfect setting for A PLACE FOR US

Right
Left
loading...

Harriet Evans talks about researching her latest novel, A PLACE FOR US

loading...

Harriet Evans talks about the secret at the heart of A PLACE FOR US

loading...

Harriet Evans on creating the perfect setting for A PLACE FOR US

Right

Harriet Evans

Harriet Evans is the author of several top ten bestsellers including the Richard and Judy bookclub selection The Wildflowers. She used to work in publishing and now writes full time, when she is not being distracted by her children, other books, sewing projects, puzzles, gardening, and her much-loved collection of jumpsuits. Last year, she and her family moved from London to Bath. The Garden of Lost and Found is her eleventh novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay