Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

Heatstroke: a dark, compulsive story of love and obsession

Hazel Barkworth

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense

The intoxicating book club pick that everyone is talking about.

DO YOU REMEMBER THE SUMMER THAT CHANGED EVERYTHING?

'A thrilling look at mothers and daughters, adolescence, sex, suburbia and secrets' NELL FRIZZELL

'Unsettling, challenging and utterly immersive' CLARE MACKINTOSH

'A sultry, stifling debut exploring power, consent and womanhood' COSMOPOLITAN

---


Rachel and her daughter have never had secrets. Until now.

Lily is somewhere she shouldn't be. With someone she shouldn't be with.

Mia misses her best friend. But she let her down.

In the middle of a stifling heatwave, Rachel, Lily and Mia stand on the edge of irrevocable change. Soon, just one burning question will remain... how could they let things go this far?

A provocative debut novel for fans of My Dark Vanessa, The Push by Ashley Audrain and Megan Nolan's Acts of Desperation.

---

'Barkworth is excruciatingly good' OBSERVER

'I am addicted... dark and twisty with beautiful, poetic writing' EMMA GANNON

'Gripping and intensely atmospheric... you won't want to put this down' HEAT magazine's READ OF THE WEEK

'Stylish and sensual' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE

'Twists, turns and revelations in all the right places' EVENING STANDARD

'A stunning new voice... I couldn't tear myself away' ERIN KELLY

'Sexy and provocative' LAURA JANE WILLIAMS

'Pulls you into its sweaty interior and keeps you gripped' RENEE KNIGHT

'Compulsive, sticky and full of gorgeous writing' KIRSTIN INNES

'Read next if you loved Three Women by Lisa Taddeo' WHISTLES newsletter

Read More Read Less

Praise for Heatstroke: a dark, compulsive story of love and obsession

  • Barkworth is excruciatingly good at encapsulating that point in life where Mia and Lily stand - on the edge of growing up - Observer

  • Gripping and intensely atmospheric... beautifully explores the complicated relationship between mothers and teenage daughters... you won't want to put this down - Heat

  • Dark and unsettling - Red

  • A bold and beautifully written novel of desire and danger - Mail on Sunday

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay