Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • HEA Audio Books
  • Headline Review

Heatstroke: an intoxicating story of obsession over one hot summer

Hazel Barkworth

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A dazzling debut novel of a dark love affair, set to ignite debate this summer.

'Painfully real, and so beautifully written I wanted to stay within its pages forever'
CLARE MACKINTOSH

'Stylish and sensual'
KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE

'A thrilling look at mothers and daughters, adolescence, sex, suburbia and secrets'
NELL FRIZZELL

'Sexy, sensual, difficult, provocative...definitely one of the best reads of the summer'
LAURA JANE WILLIAMS

'Pulls you into its sweaty interior and keeps you gripped'
RENEE KNIGHT

---

A dazzling debut novel of a dark love affair, set to ignite debate in summer 2020.

FOR FANS OF ZOE HELLER, EMMA CLINE, EXPECTATION AND MY DARK VANESSA.

--- The summer burns with secrets...

It is too hot to sleep. To work. To be questioned time and again by the police.

At the beginning of a stifling, sultry summer, everything shifts irrevocably when Lily doesn't come home one afternoon.

Rachel is Lily's teacher. Her daughter Mia is Lily's best friend. The girls are fifteen - almost women, still children.

As Rachel becomes increasingly fixated on Lily's absence, she finds herself breaking fragile trusts and confronting impossible choices she never thought she'd face.

It wasn't supposed to happen like this.

Intoxicating and compulsive, Heatstroke is a darkly gripping, thought-provoking novel of crossed boundaries, power and betrayal, that plays with expectations at every turn.

---

'I couldn't tear myself away'
ERIN KELLY

'Compulsive, sticky and full of gorgeous writing'
KIRSTIN INNES

'A scorching tale of obsession, betrayal and the wounds that mothers and daughters inflict on each other in the name of love'
TAMMY COHEN

Read More Read Less

Praise for Heatstroke: an intoxicating story of obsession over one hot summer

  • Painfully real, and so beautifully written I wanted to stay within its pages forever. Heatstroke is unsettling, challenging and utterly immersive - Clare Mackintosh

  • Stylish and sensual

  • Tense, sultry, unsettling, sweaty and evocative . . . A thrilling look at mothers and daughters, adolescence, sex, suburbia and secrets - Nell Frizzell

  • Pulls you into its sweaty interior and keeps you gripped to the end. Darkly atmospheric and so well written

  • Sexy, sensual, difficult, provocative - I was hooked for every twist, turn and revelation. This is definitely one of the best reads of the summer. I was blown away - Laura Jane Williams

  • I gulped this whole thing down in one sitting. It's compulsive, sticky and full of gorgeous writing - Kirstin Innes

  • Raw, unsparing and almost unbearably tender. Perfect sentences swim gracefully across every page, overlaying a narrative that delights in wrong-footing the readers' assumptions. I couldn't tear myself away

  • A scorching tale of obsession, betrayal and the wounds that mothers and daughters inflict on each other in the name of love

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay