Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit

Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries

Heather Fawcett

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

Filled with enchanting magic, heart-warming romance and a heroine you can't help but love, Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries is the perfect read for fans of The Ten Thousand Doors of January and Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell.

'Enchanting in every sense of the word. . . This book is real magic' H. G. Parry, author of The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

An intrepid professor journeys to a small town to study faerie folklore, where she discovers dark fae magic, friendship, and love, in this heart-warming and enchanting fantasy.

Emily Wilde is good at many things: she is the foremost expert on the study of faeries. She is a genius scholar and a meticulous researcher who is writing the world's first encylopaedia of faerie lore. But Emily Wilde is not good at people. She could never make small talk at a party - much less get invited to one. Emily prefers the company of her books, her dog Shadow, and the Fair Folk.

So when she arrives in the hardscrabble village of Hransvik, Emily has no intention of befriending the gruff townsfolk. Nor does she care to spend time with another new arrival: her dashing and insufferably handsome academic rival Wendell Bambleby, who manages to charm the townsfolk, get in the middle of her research, and utterly confound and frustrate Emily.

But as Emily gets closer to uncovering the secrets of the Hidden Ones - the most elusive of all faeries - she also finds herself on the trail of another mystery: who is Wendell Bambleby, and what does he really want? To find the answer, she'll have to unlock the greatest mystery of all - her own heart.

'The ideal book to curl up with on a chilly winter's evening. . . this book is an absolute delight.' Megan Bannen, author of The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

'A charmingly whimsical delight. . . Five dazzling, gladdening stars' India Holton, author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

Read More Read Less

Praise for Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries

  • Enchanting in every sense of the word, Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries is a delight of snowl aden forests and changelings, folklore and fairy kings, meticulous footnotes and academic rivalry and adventure. Brilliant, prickly Emily Wilde and her infuriatingly charming fellow scholar have a special place in my heart now. This book is real magic

  • A charmingly whimsical delight, saturated with faerie magic and the equally wonderful magic of humanity. . . Five dazzling, gladdening stars

  • Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries charmed me more than any faerie king ever could. . . the ideal book to curl up with on a chilly winter's evening. I would follow Emily and Wendell to the ends of the earth. This book is an absolute delight

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay