Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit

The Rising

Ian Tregillis

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Fantasy

Following The Mechanical comes the second novel in this thrilling and heart-breaking new series about one individual's struggle for freedom - perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi, Ann Leckie and Neal Stephenson. It is a series poised to catapult Ian Tregillis into the company of the most exceptionally talented, award-worthy authors of the science fiction and fantasy genre. George R. R. Martin cal

They called me Jax.

That was the name given by those who built me and enslaved me. But a miracle has happened, and now my bonds are broken.

Now I must flee - because a rogue mechanical is a very dangerous thing.

But I will not run forever.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, this is the second novel in a stunning new series by Ian Tregillis, confirming his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Rising

  • The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: "Wow." The second thing will probably be: "When can I read the next one? . . . This is a rousing SF/fantasy adventure, with a brilliantly imagined and beautifully rendered alternate world - BOOKLIST on THE MECHANICAL

  • Tregillis launches a series with this superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will . . . Tregillis's complex setting is elegantly delivered, and the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY on THE MECHANICAL

  • A multi-layered literary confection . . . tight and well constructed, and an absolute pleasure to read . . . absolutely fascinating, and unapologetically clever - SCIFI AND FANTASY REVIEWS on THE MECHANICAL

  • Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series - LIBRARY JOURNAL on THE MECHANICAL

Read More Read Less