Your cart


Total AUD



  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books


Irenosen Okojie

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A dark and lyrical collection of short stories from the author of the critically acclaimed Speak Gigantular and Butterfly Fish, whose unique voice has been praised by writers like Ben Okri and Stella Duffy.


Nudibranch is Irenosen Okojie's second collection of short stories, a follow up to Speak Gargantular which was shortlisted for the 2016 Jhalak Prize and 2017 Edge Hill Short Story Prize.

The collection focuses on offbeat characters caught up in extraordinary situations - a mysterious woman of the sea in search of love arrives on an island inhabited by eunuchs; dimensional-hopping monks navigating a season of silence face a bloody reckoning in the ruins of an abbey; an aspiring journalist returning from a failed excursion in Sydney becomes what she eats and a darker, Orwellian future is imagined where oddly detached children arrive in cycles and prove to be dangerous in unfamiliar surroundings.

Irenosen Okojie was a recipient of the 2016 Betty Trask Award and in 2015, the Evening Standard named her as one of top debut novelists of the summer for her novel, Butterfly Fish. Her writing has been featured in the Guardian and Observer and has been lauded by the likes of fellow writers such as Rupert Thompson, Ben Okri and Michele Roberts.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Nudibranch

  • Okojie has a sharp eye . . . and a turn of phrase that switches from elegance to brutality in a single line - Stella Duffy

  • An original and highly unpredictable imagination, in a single sentence, Irenosen Okojie can whip the rug from under your feet. She's that rare and admirable thing - a writer who is also a risk taker. Prepare to be startled - Rupert Thomson

  • Read her writing for the risk, for the heart, for the imagination - Ben Okri

  • One of the most original and innovative writers to emerge in many a year - Alex Wheatle MBE

  • Unique and imaginative - Diana Evans, Orange Prize Winner

  • Creates a whole new geography of the imagination - Michele Roberts

Read More Read Less

Irenosen Okojie

Irenosen Okojie is a Nigerian British writer. Her debut novel Butterfly Fish won a Betty Trask award and was shortlisted for an Edinburgh International First Book Award. Her work has been featured in The New York Times, the Observer, the Guardian, the BBC and the Huffington Post amongst other publications. Her short story collection Speak Gigantular , published by Jacaranda Books, was shortlisted for the Edgehill Short Story Prize, the Jhalak Prize, the Saboteur Awards and nominated for a Shirley Jackson Award. She was recently inducted as a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature as one of the Forty Under Forty initiative.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay