Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Silent Child

J Kelly

Write Review

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense

For readers of My Name is Eva, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Letter, this is a haunting and thought-provoking dual timeframe historical novel about a woman attempting to find her family after they were separated at a concentration camp.

IS IT EVER TOO LATE FOR THE PAST TO FIND A VOICE?

1944
Leo Stern arrives in the camp of Borek with his wife Irena and their two daughters. The Sterns are briefly spared from the chambers when they are witnesses to a horrifying incident, but in a place that humanity has deserted, Leo is forced to make unimaginable choices to keep his family alive.

1961
For seventeen years, Hanna has been unable to remember her name, or how she was separated from her family at the end of the war, until the discovery of an anonymous letter among her late uncle's possessions reveals her real identity - Hanna Stern - and sets her off to Berlin in search of her past.

Aided by ex-boyfriend Peter, Hanna begins to piece together the shocking final days of Borek. But Hanna isn't the only one with an interest in the camp, and lurking in the shadows is someone who would prefer Hanna's history to remain silent . . .

Based on in-depth research and beautifully written, this a novel of memory and identity, and the long shadow of war.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay