Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Dress from Paris: The glamorous, romantic dual-timeline read of summer 2022

Jade Beer

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Second World War fiction, Historical romance

A sweeping dual-narrative love story sweeping from 1950s Paris to the V&A Museum in London, told through eight couture dresses that reunite three generations of women - perfect for fans of Natasha Lester and Fiona Valpy.

The glamorous, romantic must-read novel of the summer - escape to Paris with this delicious story of fashion, secrets and forbidden love

'Transporting, dreamy and aspirational . . . an absolute must-read' ADELE PARKS

***

Each Dior dress tells a story...

London, 2017. When her beloved grandmother, Sylvie, sends her to Paris to retrieve a dress she wore decades before, Lucille sees the perfect opportunity to briefly escape the pressures of her own life. But not everything is as it seems, and the long-buried secrets she discovers, hidden in a collection of priceless Dior gowns, could change everything.

Paris, 1952. Postwar France is full of glamour and privilege, and Alice Ainsley is in the middle of it all. As the wife to the British ambassador to France, her life is a whirlwind of jewels, banquets and couture dresses, but beneath the glittering facade, Alice is suffocating in a loveless marriage. So when a new face appears in her drawing room, Alice finds herself yearning to follow her heart . . . no matter the consequences.

Deliciously evocative and achingly romantic, sweeping from 50s Paris to the V&A museum in London, The Last Dress from Paris is the perfect read for fans of Natasha Lester, Fiona Valpy and Gill Paul

***

Your favourite authors love The Last Dress from Paris:

'A delightful fashion treasure hunt involving some of my favorite Dior gowns made this book a winner for me! The present day and 1950s narratives weave seamlessly together, the dresses dance from the pages, and Paris is resplendently depicted'
Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret

'A whirlwind tour through Paris, both past and present, the novel is a rich exploration of the power of female friendships and the true meaning of family. Moving and utterly enjoyable'
Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue

'An absolute delight! The Last Dress from Paris is as original, elegant, and romantic as the Dior dresses the novel's mystery is woven around'
Hazel Gaynor

'As beautifully stitched together as a couture gown, Jade Beer's book entrances with its themes of family and female friendships. I loved it'
Jessica Fellowes

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Last Dress from Paris: The glamorous, romantic dual-timeline read of summer 2022

  • A delightful fashion treasure hunt involving some of my favorite Dior gowns made this book a winner for me! The present day and 1950s narratives weave seamlessly together, the dresses dance from the pages, and Paris is resplendently depicted

  • After finishing Beer's latest, it was all I could do to not book the next plane to France and head straight for the House of Dior. Offering a whirlwind tour through Paris, both past and present, the novel is a rich exploration of the power of female friendships and the true meaning of family. Moving and utterly enjoyable - Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue

  • An absolute delight! The Last Dress from Paris is as original, elegant, and romantic as the Dior dresses the novel's mystery is woven around. Jade Beer seamlessly stitches together an illuminating story of female friendships, secrets, and a couture treasure hunt that takes the reader from post-war Paris to present-day London. The writing is a breath of fresh air, and in her leading ladies, Lucille and Alice, Beer delivers intriguing complex characters for her readers to really care about. Magnifique!

  • An elegantly and evocatively written, thoroughly researched novel that will prove to be an absolute must read for romantics and fashionistas. Transportive, dreamy and aspirational, guaranteed to uplift and entertain

  • As beautifully stitched together as a couture gown, Jade Beer's book entrances with its themes of family and female friendships. I loved it

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay