Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • W & N Fiction
  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

Jean Pendziwol

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

For fans of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS and THE SHIPPING NEWS; an unlikely friendship, a lost journal, and the mystery of what happened to the lightkeeper's daughters when a secret love changed everything.

*** A RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK ***

Elizabeth's eyes have failed. She can no longer read the books she loves or see the paintings that move her, but her mind remains sharp and music fills the vacancy left by her blindness.

When her father's journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, she enlists the help of a delinquent teen, Morgan, to read to her. As an unlikely friendship grows between them, Elizabeth is carried back to her childhood home - the lighthouse on Porphyry Island, Lake Superior - and to the memory of her enigmatic twin sister Emily.

But for Elizabeth, the faded pages of her father's journals reveal more secrets than she anticipates.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Lightkeeper's Daughters

  • This haunting tale of nostalgia will move you and have you guessing until the final page. - Woman's Day

  • An intriguing and atmospheric read about the need to understand and then forgive. - Manly Daily

Read More Read Less

Jean Pendziwol

Jean E. Pendziwol is an award-winning Canadian author of books for children. Once Upon a Northern Night was shortlisted for a Governor General's Award and the 2014 TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards Book of the Year. The Lightkeeper's Daughters is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Ontario in the shadow of the Nor'Wester Mountains near Lake Superior.