Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N

The Lightkeeper's Daughters: A Radio 2 Book Club Choice

Jean Pendziwol

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

For fans of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS and THE SHIPPING NEWS; an unlikely friendship, a lost journal, and the mystery of what happened to the lightkeeper's daughters when a secret love changed everything.

Elizabeth's eyes have failed. She can no longer read the books she loves or see the paintings that move her, but her mind remains sharp and music fills the vacancy left by her blindness.

When her father's journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, she enlists the help of a delinquent teen, Morgan, to read to her. As an unlikely friendship grows between them, Elizabeth is carried back to her childhood home - the lighthouse on Porphyry Island, Lake Superior - and to the memory of her enigmatic twin sister Emily.

But for Elizabeth, the faded pages of her father's journals reveal more secrets than she anticipates.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Lightkeeper's Daughters: A Radio 2 Book Club Choice

  • Jean Pendziwol's beautifully written novel captured me from the very first page . . . a sensitive and moving examination of the nature of identity, the importance of family, and the possibility of second chances

  • Lake Superior may not give up its dead, but it does eventually give up the secret that lies at the heart of this compelling and fascinating novel by Jean Pendziwol. The Lightkeeper's Daughters is a splendid feat of storytelling that held me happily spellbound from the opening pages to the satisfying final sentence

  • The Lightkeeper's Daughters is a new kind of love story, a celebration of unlikely human connections. Jean Pendziwol's storytelling prowess held me fast to the page, and with each surprising revelation, I fell more deeply in love with Elizabeth and Morgan. I delighted in watching these unexpected friends grow together in their combined attempt to answer that most primal question: Who am I? The Lightkeeper's Daughters gets an enthusiastic standing ovation from me. As soon as I turned the last page, I missed the characters who had, in the short space of a novel, already grown to take up real space in my heart

Read More Read Less

Jean Pendziwol

Jean E. Pendziwol is an award-winning Canadian author of books for children. ONCE UPON A NORTHERN NIGHT was shortlisted for a Governor General's Award and the 2014 TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards Book of the Year. THE LIGHTKEEPER'S DAUGHTERS is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Ontario in the shadow of the Nor'Wester Mountains near Lake Superior.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay