Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

The Bitter Twins (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 2)

Jen Williams

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

The second electrifying installment of the Winnowing Flame trilogy by three-time British Fantasy Award finalist and one of the UK's hottest emerging fantasy writers, Jen Williams.

From Jen Williams, highly-acclaimed author of the Copper Cat trilogy and three-time British Fantasy Award finalist, comes the second novel in the electrifying Winnowing Flame trilogy - the sequel to The Ninth Rain. Epic fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb and Adrian Tchaikovsky.

'An absolute joy to read... jam-packed with breath-taking inventiveness' James Oswald

'Williams excels at eldritch world-building' Guardian

The Ninth Rain has fallen. The Jure'lia are awake. Nothing can be the same again.

Tormalin the Oathless and the fell-witch Noon have their work cut out rallying the first war-beasts to be born in Ebora for three centuries. But these are not the great winged warriors of old. Hatched too soon and with no memory of their past incarnations, these onetime defenders of Sarn can barely stop bickering, let alone face an ancient enemy who grow stronger each day.

The key to uniting them, according to the scholar Vintage, may lie in a part of Sarn no one really believes exists - a distant island, mysteriously connected to the fate of two legendary Eborans who disappeared long ago.

But finding it will mean a perilous journey in a time of war, while new monsters lie in wait for those left behind.

Join the heroes of THE NINTH RAIN as they battle a terrible evil, the likes of which Sarn has never known.

What readers are saying about THE BITTER TWINS:

'The sequel to the brilliant Ninth Rain kicks it up a notch with more action, scarier monsters and a more expansive story'

'Be ready for some great reveals and twists that may break your heart, but that will overall leave you fist pumping the air'

'The world building continues to blow my mind

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Bitter Twins (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 2)

  • Incredible heroines... incredible fantasy... Escapism at its finest - Stylist

  • Williams brings her dark and immersive narrative to life with vivid descriptive passages, a great line in sarcastic humour and human insight - Guardian

  • A triumphant return to the world of Sarn... wickedly entertaining and balances its humour at all times with an emotional sense of consequence for each of its characters - SciFiNow

  • Pure fantasy fun - Starburst

Read More Read Less

Jen Williams

JEN WILLIAMS started writing about pirates and dragons as a young girl and hasn't ever stopped. Her short stories have featured in numerous anthologies and her debut novel, The Copper Promise, was published in 2014 to huge acclaim. Jen was nominated in the Best Newcomer category at the 2015 British Fantasy Awards and her following two novels, The Iron Ghost and The Silver Tide were both shortlisted for the British Fantasy Awards Novel of the Year. Jen lives in London with her partner and their cat.