Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review

The Gown: An enthralling historical novel of the creation of Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress

Jennifer Robson

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Sagas

A captivating novel of post-war London and the women who created one of the most famous wedding dresses of all time, perfect for fans of THE CROWN.

THE GOWN is an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it. Perfect for anyone who's captivated by THE CROWN.

London, 1947: Besieged by a harsh winter, burdened by shortages and rationing, the people of post-war Britain are suffering despite their nation's recent victory. For Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell, a glimmer of brightness comes in the form of their unlikely friendship and being chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honour: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown.

Toronto, 2016: Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved nan, who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost seventy years before? And what was her nan's connection to the celebrated textile artist and Holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin?

With THE GOWN, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created to tell a story of women whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Gown: An enthralling historical novel of the creation of Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress

  • In The Gown, Jennifer Robson illuminates with her signature meticulous historical detail and sure voice the story behind Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress. Through the friendship of dressmakers Ann and Miriam, and the modern day mystery of a set of embroidered flowers, readers are drawn into an unforgettable story of friendship, hardship and hope. Robson has managed to craft a story that is personal and universal, timely and timeless. The Gown soars!

  • A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity. Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth's wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways. Perfect for fans of The Crown!

  • Embroidering a magical moment in royal history, Robson tells a heartrending story of friendship, loss, love, and redemption.

  • Robson delivers a satisfying multi-generational epic ... Robson's meticulous attention to historical details - notably the intricacies of the embroidery work - is a wonderful complement to the memorable stories of Ann and Miriam, making for a winning, heartwarming tale - Publishers Weekly starred review

  • Robson deftly weaves issues of class, trauma, romance, and female friendship with satisfying details of Ann and Miriam's craft. This unique take on the royal wedding will be an easy sell to fans of Netflix's The Crown and a sure bet for readers of women-centered historical fiction by Kate Morton, Kate Quinn, or Susanna Kearsley - Booklist starred review

  • Robson vividly brings to life these three women's struggles. Historical details about fabric, embroidery, and the royal family are well incorporated into their stories, with light romance rounding out this charming work of historical fiction - Library Journal

  • ...meticulous attention to the historical detail of post-World War II London... A fascinating glimpse into the world of design, the healing power of art, and the importance of women's friendships - Kirkus

Read More Read Less

Jennifer Robson

Jennifer Robson is the USA Today and No. 1 Toronto Globe & Mail bestselling author of Somewhere in France, After the War Is Over and Moonlight over Paris. She studied French literature and modern history as an undergraduate at the University of Western Ontario-King's College, then obtained her doctorate in British economic and social history at St. Antony's College at the University of Oxford, England.

To find out more about Jennifer visit her website: www.jennifer-robson.com or find her on Facebook /AuthorJenniferRobson, Twitter @AuthorJenniferR and Instagram @authorjenniferrobson.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay