Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere

Island in the East

Jenny Ashcroft

Write Review

Rated 0

Historical romance, Historical fiction

Set in 1890s and 1940s Singapore, the stunning ISLAND IN THE EAST is a story of love, sisterly rivalry and the true cost of betrayal. Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, it's the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Fiona McIntosh and Dinah Jefferies.

It is 1897 and identical twins Harriet and Mae, having been born out of wedlock, are used to the whispers that follow them around, but their love for one another is all they've ever needed. Their mysterious benefactor, however, disagrees and sends them to Singapore to live with his distant relative, the rather unremarkable David Keeley, who will choose one of the sisters to marry. This single act sets off a chain of events that causes a distance to open up between Harriet and Mae, but it is only after the twins meet the handsome Alex Blake that their relationship becomes truly fractured. When one sister's envy of the other results in a betrayal so shocking, their sisterhood may not survive it, she realises that the only way she can make amends is by making the ultimate sacrifice. But that sacrifice will have repercussions throughout the generations . . .

With a sizzling love affair playing out against this epic family drama, and a vivid and richly rendered wartime backdrop, ISLAND IN THE EAST is evocative, atmospheric and incredibly romantic historical fiction at its very best.

Read More Read Less

Jenny Ashcroft

Jenny Ashcroft lives in Brighton with her husband and two children. Before that, she spent many years living and working in Australia and Asia - a time which gave her an enduring passion for stories set in exotic places. She has a degree in history, and has always been fascinated by the past - in particular the way that extraordinary events can transform the lives of normal people. Her first book, Beneath a Burning Sky, was an instant hit with readers who fell in love with Jenny's wonderful, evocative storytelling. Island in the East in her second novel.

Keep in touch with Jenny by following her on Twitter (@Jenny_Ashcroft).