Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

Jenny Ashcroft

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical romance, Historical fiction

From the author of Beneath a Burning Sky, comes a stunning story of love, sisterly rivalry and the true cost of betrayal, beautifully set in 1890s and 1940s Singapore.

'Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling.' Kate Furnivall

'I'm absolutely loving it.' Gill Paul

'Completely entrancing - the humidity and social tensions of a bygone Singapore rise from every page. Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous

'It's impossible to put this book down.' Kate Riordan

With a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama, Island in the East is the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Tracy Rees.

**************


Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

Singapore, 1897
Harriet and Mae Grafton, twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair, grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences.

1941
Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair, and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . .

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, Island in the East is evocative, atmospheric and romantic historical fiction at its very best.

Praise for Jenny Ashcroft:

'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies
'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees
'A summer must-read' Red
'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher
'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan
'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey
'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton

Read More Read Less

Praise for Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

  • Exotic and mysterious. I was gripped - Dinah Jefferies on BENEATH A BURNING SKY

  • Beautifully described . . . a moving love story - Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow, on BENEATH A BURNING SKY

  • Absolutely brilliant - Kerry Fisher, author of The Silent Wife, on BENEATH A BURNING SKY

Read More Read Less

Jenny Ashcroft

Jenny Ashcroft lives in Brighton with her husband and two children. Before that, she spent many years living and working in Australia and Asia - a time which gave her an enduring passion for stories set in exotic places. She has a degree in history, and has always been fascinated by the past - in particular the way that extraordinary events can transform the lives of normal people. Her first book, Beneath a Burning Sky, was an instant hit with readers who fell in love with Jenny's wonderful, evocative storytelling. Island in the East is her second novel, and her third novel Last Letter to Bombay will publish in Spring 2019

Keep in touch with Jenny by following her on Twitter (@Jenny_Ashcroft).