Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio

The Mitford Murders: Nancy Mitford and the murder of Florence Nightgale Shore

Jessica Fellowes

Write Review

Rated 0

The Mitford Murders, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Historical mysteries

A Golden Age-style mystery bursting with period detail and set amid the Mitford household, THE MITFORD MURDERS is the glittering start to a thrilling and sumptuous new series written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one bestselling DOWNTON ABBEY books.

'A lively, well-written, entertaining whodunit' THE TIMES

Lose yourself in the sumptuous first novel in a new series of Golden Age mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle.

Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But when a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, Nancy and amateur sleuth Louisa find that in postwar England, everyone has something to hide . . .

Written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one-bestselling DOWNTON ABBEY books, THE MITFORD MURDERS is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime. 'An extraordinary meld of fact and fiction' GRAHAM NORTON 'True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery'
DAISY GOODWIN

'Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable'
ANTHONY HOROWITZ

'Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times. Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured THE MITFORD MURDERS... so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one'
SUSAN HILL

'All the blissful escapism of a Sunday-night period drama in a book'
THE POOL

'Keeps the reader guessing to the very end. An accomplished crime debut and huge fun to read'
EVENING STANDARD

'This story is drenched in detail and feels both authentic and fun. Curl up in your favourite reading spot and enjoy'
HEAT

'The plan is that each book will focus on a different Mitford sister. On the strength of this initial entry, success is assured'
FINANCIAL TIMES

'Elegant, whipsmart and brilliantly twisty-turny, this DOWNTON-style mystery had me hooked from the first page'
VIV GROSKOP

'Full of period pleasure'
WOMAN & HOME

'An audacious and glorious foray into the Golden Age of mystery fiction. Breathtaking'
ALEX GRAY

'A real murder, a real family and a brand new crime fiction h
Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

30 seconds with Jessica Fellowes

Right
Left
loading...

30 seconds with Jessica Fellowes

Right

Jessica Fellowes

Jessica Fellowes is an author, journalist and public speaker. Her bestselling The Mitford Murders series has been nominated for awards in Britain, France, Germany and Italy, and sold into eighteen territories. Jessica is also the author of five official companion books to Downton Abbey, various of which hit the New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller lists. She has written short stories for Vogue Italia and L'Uomo Vogue, and made numerous appearances on radio, podcasts and television. She lives in Oxfordshire with her family.

www.jessicafellowes.com

Twitter: @jessicafellowes
Instagram: @author_jessicafellowes

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay