Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Confession: The most hotly-anticipated psychological thriller of 2018!

Jo Spain

11 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

The breathtaking debut psychological thriller from bestselling author Jo Spain.

YOU FIND OUT WHO DID IT ON THE VERY FIRST PAGE. ON THE LAST PAGE, YOU'LL FIND OUT WHY. 'I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story . . . a really cracking read'
BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown

'Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision'
JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.

Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry's many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who - of Harry, Julie and JP - is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?

THE MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018: PERFECT FOR FANS OF HE SAID, SHE SAID AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Confession: The most hotly-anticipated psychological thriller of 2018!

  • Fiendishly clever . . . and a big fat twist is lobbed into the ending like a hand grenade - Sunday Independent

  • I loved this twisty slice of domestic noir - Claire McGowan, author of Blood Tide

  • Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision - JP Delaney

  • I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story... a really cracking read - BA Paris

  • Jo Spain is such a talent. The Confession had me in its thrall from the first page, revealing the dark side of the Celtic Tiger - Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill

  • An absolute cracker of a book, compulsive, deviously plotted and intense - I will be recommending this to everyone - Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner

  • Brilliant! Fast paced, well researched and sensitive. Jo Spain is a sparkling new talent! - Irish Examiner

  • In a very strong year for Irish crime-fiction debuts, Jo Spain's With Our Blessing is among the most assured - Irish Times

  • A climax that is shocking and unexpected - The Times

  • Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision - JP Delaney

  • Praise for Jo Spain

Read More Read Less

Jo Spain

Jo Spain has worked as a party advisor on the economy in the Irish parliament. Her first novel, With Our Blessing, was one of seven books shortlisted in the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition and went on to be a top-ten bestseller in Ireland. Joanne lives in Dublin with her husband and their four young children.