Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute

Jonathan L. Howard, Jonathan L. Howard

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Fantasy

The third novel in this fantastic series, a must for fans of Terry Pratchett and Tim Burton.

Johannes Cabal and his rather inexact powers of necromancy are back once more. This time, his talents are purchased by The Fear Institute as they hunt for the Phobic Animus - the embodiment of fear.

The three Institute members, led by Cabal and his Silver Key, enter the Dreamlands and find themselves pursued by walking trees plagued with giant ticks, stone men that patrol the ruins of their castles, cats that feed on human flesh and phobias which torment and devastate. The intrepid explorers are killed off one by one as they traipse through this obfuscating and frustrating world, where history itself appears to alter. Cabal, annoyed that the quest is becoming increasingly heroic, finds himself alone with the Institute's only remaining survivor, and after a shockingly violent experiment, begins to suspect that not everything is quite as it seems...

Read More Read Less

Praise for Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute

  • Readers, rejoice; Johannes Cabal is back... Howard's Dreamlands will thrill fans of H. P Lovecraft, but Cabal leaves a permanent mark on even the most fluid of landscapes, and Howard's writing shines, sketching out a personality both fascinating and heartbreaking, on an adventure that reverberates from Dreamlands to the waking world, with a future that every reader must hope involves many more stories to come - www.bookgeeks.co.uk

  • There are thrills. Laughter. Tears. I am almost inclined to say this is the best Johannes Cabal book yet. Until the next one, I suspect. Read it. You'll be hooked - Dracula Society Newsletter

Read More Read Less

Jonathan L. Howard

Jonathan L. Howard is a game designer, scriptwriter, and a veteran of the computer games industry since the early 'nineties with titles such as the 'Broken Sword' series to his credit. He lives in the United Kingdom with his wife and daughter.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay