Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

Don't Cry Alone: An utterly captivating saga exploring the strength of love

Josephine Cox

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Sagas, Historical fiction

Beth is a woman of rare courage and fortitude, but there is danger and heartbreak to be endured before she can find peace and happiness . . .

No.1 bestselling writer, Josephine Cox, is 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' (Manchester Evening News). DON'T CRY ALONE is a compelling and heartfelt novel exploring the strength of love. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Catherine Cookson.

Beth Ward and Tyler Blacklock share a love they know will last forever. But Beth's mother, Esther, is jealous of the girl and seizes an opportunity to be rid of her daughter. Banished in disgrace from the family home, Beth takes the northbound train and alights at Blackburn, friendless and alone. On this day, Fortune smiles, for Beth is taken in by warm-hearted Maisie Armstrong, a widow with two children. Money is scarce, but love abounds in the cosy house on Larkhill, and Beth is content there to await the birth of her child. But she cannot forget Tyler, and is tormented by the belief that he has betrayed her . . .

Read More Read Less

Josephine Cox

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.