Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

Ghosts of Shanghai 03 Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick

Write Review

Rated 0

For National Curriculum Key Stage 2, Interest age: from c 9 years, Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage), Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage), Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage), Witches & ghosts (Children's / Teenage)


'The thing about ghosts is sometimes we create our own. And sometimes they find us, no matter what we do.'

The thrilling conclusion to the Ghosts of Shanghai by the award-winning author of the Mysterium trilogy, for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.

Ruby is on a mission to rescue the boy she loves: Charlie has been swept away in the powerful waters of the River Yangtze. But the world she loves is now broken by danger and fear, and Ruby is lost and surrounded by ghosts.

Can Ruby trust herself, and those around her, to find Charlie and return to Shanghai? Or has she ventured too deep into the realm of spirits?

On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, crossing from one world to the other, Ruby must follow the 'red thread of destiny' to find Charlie and home, before she loses herself . . .

Read More Read Less

Julian Sedgwick

Julian Sedgwick resolved to become a writer at the age of 12. He has written continuously since then - but got sidetracked along the way - and has subsequently worked as a painter, bookseller, researcher and advisor for film and TV, graphic artist and therapist. A lifelong interest in Asian culture led him to study Chinese and Philosophy at university and has shaped much of his working life. In his spare time he is a fire juggler and spends as much time as possible drawing. Recently he has been co-writing with his brother - the children's author, Marcus Sedgwick - working on a graphic novel, and various film projects. Julian lives in the Cambridgeshire Fens with his wife and two sons.