Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

Scarred Woman

Jussi Adler-Olsen

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

The master of the Nordic thriller returns with the seventh instalment of the gripping Department Q series.

A NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
OVER 18 MILLION COPIES SOLD
WINNER OF THE GLASS KEY AWARD

Jussi Adler-Olsen returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet...

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Morck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past - a past seemingly connected to one of the division's most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.

Translated by William Frost

Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Scarred Woman

  • Scandinavian crime novels don't get much darker than Jussi Adler-Olsen's Department Q police procedurals - New York Times Book Review

  • The new "it" boy of Nordic Noir - Times

  • Gripping story-telling - Guardian

  • Adler-Olsen's prose is superior to Larsson's, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humour - Booklist on Mercy

  • [A] sordid tale . . . inspired by actual events during a dark period of Danish history. Ah, but there is more, so much more in this frenzied thriller - New York Times on Guilt

  • Mesmerising writing - Independent

Read More Read Less

Jussi Adler-Olsen

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark's number one crime writer and a New York Times bestseller. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe and have sold more than eighteen million copies around the world. His many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards include the Glass Key Award, also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay