Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

Scarred Woman

Jussi Adler-Olsen

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

The master of the Nordic thriller returns with the seventh instalment of the gripping Department Q series.

The international no. 1 bestseller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Morck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past - a past seemingly connected to one of the division's most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Scarred Woman

  • The new "it" boy of Nordic Noir - Times

  • Gripping story-telling - Guardian

  • Adler-Olsen's prose is superior to Larsson's, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humour - Booklist on Mercy

  • [A] sordid tale . . . inspired by actual events during a dark period of Danish history. Ah, but there is more, so much more in this frenzied thriller - New York Times on Guilt

  • Mesmerising writing . . . with an added level of mystery - Independent

Read More Read Less

Jussi Adler-Olsen

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark's number one crime writer and a New York Times bestseller. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe and have sold more than eighteen million copies around the world. His many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards include the Glass Key Award, also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.