Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Drowned City: Treason. Lies. Conspiracy. One man must uncover the truth.

K. J. Maitland

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Historical fiction

Gunpowder and treason changed England forever. But the tides are turning and revenge runs deep in this compelling historical thriller.

'A gripping thriller' THE TIMES

'Dark and enthralling' ANDREW TAYLOR

'Goes right to the heart of the Jacobean court' TRACY BORMAN

---

Gunpowder and treason changed England forever. But the tides are turning and revenge runs deep in this masterful historical thriller for fans of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor's Ashes of London, Kate Mosse and Blood & Sugar.

1606. England stands divided in the wake of the failed Gunpowder Plot. As a devastating tidal wave sweeps the Bristol Channel, rumours of new treachery reach the King.

In Newgate prison, Daniel Pursglove receives an unexpected - and dangerous - offer. Charles FitzAlan, close confidant of King James, will grant his freedom - if Daniel can infiltrate the underground Catholic network in Bristol and unmask the one conspirator still at large.

Where better to hide a traitor than in the chaos of a drowned city? Daniel goes to Bristol to investigate, but soon finds himself at the heart of a dark Jesuit conspiracy - and in pursuit of a killer.

DANIEL PURSGLOVE BOOK ONE

---

'Colourful and compelling' SUNDAY TIMES

'Devilishly good' DAILY MAIL

'Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant' CONN IGGULDEN

'The intrigues of Jacobean court politics simmer beneath the surface in this gripping and masterful crime novel' KATHERINE CLEMENTS 'Shadows and menace lurk round almost every corner... Brilliant writing and more importantly, riveting reading' SIMON SCARROW

'Beautifully written with a dark heart, Maitland knows how to pull you deep into the early Jacobean period' RHIANNON WARD

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Drowned City: Treason. Lies. Conspiracy. One man must uncover the truth.

  • Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant. Wonderful, exciting story

  • A brilliant writer, with a real sense of history

  • Combines the storytelling traditions of The Canterbury Tales with the supernatural suspense of Mosse's Sepulchre - Marie Claire on Company of Liars

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay